RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   first glow kit plane (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/10426621-first-glow-kit-plane.html)

flyingaardvark 03-27-2011 02:48 PM

first glow kit plane

I'm not a beginner when it comes to flying, but i am when it comes to building. Does anyone knowofa good kit plane for my needs?

flyingaardvark 03-27-2011 02:49 PM

RE: first glow kit plane

forgot to mention im looking for a .60 to .90 size plane.

mike109 03-27-2011 02:57 PM

G'day
How about the Sig Four Star 60. (The plane in my avatar to the left is one.). They fly well, are very easy to build and are not too expensive though they do need quite a bit of covering material. Mine has a Saito 100. When originally built it had a Saito 72 which was also fine. Super Tigre 90 works well too of you want raw power.

The instructions are great, the plan too is excellent. Sig kits are a very good place to start.

http://www.sigmfg.com

I am currently waiting for the delivery of a Sig Somethin' Extra; a great little plane to have fun building and flying. I think mine will end up powered by a Saito 62 (my favourite engine of the moment).

Cheers

Mike in Oz

CGRetired 03-27-2011 03:09 PM

Great choice... add the Goldberg Tiger 60 to that. Great flying plane and a great starter kit.

CGr.

MinnFlyer 03-28-2011 06:24 AM

If you like a good aerobat, the Goldberg Chipmunk is a winner!

turboratt89 03-28-2011 07:59 AM

or a goldberg cub is allso a great kit
really anything from goldberg is a great way for a first build

twostroke 03-28-2011 09:52 AM

Just make sure it is a laser cut the fit is much better that the die cut(crush) kits..[:'(]

ChuckW 03-28-2011 10:52 AM