RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   How to handle the guys with flawed plans? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/11126089-how-handle-guys-flawed-plans.html)

jester_s1 06-20-2012 08:34 PM

How to handle the guys with flawed plans?

I've been an instructor for about 3 years sporadically, and been flying for 7. But there's something I still haven't learned and that's how to handle guys who come along and have ideas in their heads about what they are going to do that simply aren't going to work. Many of us have met the type; the rules don't apply to them, they have extraordinary ability, their planes can't be crashed, etc. If you tell them the truth, they get offended or just ignore you. If you don't, they go and destroy a cheap airframe and never try the hobby again. I've dealt with two of them this week. One was a guy who wants to get into the parkflyer side of the hobby who showed up with a Redcat Cessna. I don't know much about the brand, but the plane was very light and looked cheap. He wanted to get started in the hobby but didn't want to put any thought or effort into it. The new plane wouldn't bind, then he emails me later and says that it was because his transmitter batteries were no good. He had put old, depleted AA's into an aircraft transmitter and just hoped it would work! At least he had enough sense not to go with his first instinct and fly the F16 he originally bought. He had showed up to our club field uninvited and tried to fly it, but couldn't figure out which channels the controls went on. He wound up Craigslisting that and buying this Cessna, then emailed me to ask if it was a good beginner plane. After he tried to dump the Cessna, he then emailed me again to ask what a good beginner plane was. The lazy bum won't do his own research, won't try to get his equipment in order, and had a very entitled attitude towards out club property and the help