RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   2nd airplane choice after trainer? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/11461368-2nd-airplane-choice-after-trainer.html)

Alena23 03-29-2013 09:23 AM

2nd airplane choice after trainer?

Hello everyone, i have been flying the hobbico nexstar 46 trainer for a few months and have really enjoyed flying this when i get the chance:) I got off to a great start with help from people here and at local club as well as youtube and other places. anyways, i have only had a few mishap but not any bad crashes just a few hard landings and one that broke some of the balsa wood where the landing gear attach but nothing serious and it has been fixed. I feel i have outgrown the this airplane and want to get more into the aspects of tricks. i feel nexstar is great airplane to learn to fly and fly around slow and learn the basics but not so much for advancing. i would like to know if anyone has any recommendation for what to do next. i would like a more aerobatic airplane that has some power for tricks but i notice the cost of these are very high new. is there anyway i can keep with the glow fuel equipment and engine, servo motors, reciever, and transmitter i have currently but just put into a different airplane so i do not have to buy all new?
many thanks, Alena.

Chucksolo69 03-29-2013 09:25 AM

RE: 2nd airplane choice after trainer?

Look at some of the Hangar 9 airplanes by Horizon Hobby. Most of them can be fitted for either gas/glow or electric. Maxford USA also has quite a selection.

Alena23 03-29-2013 09:28 AM

ok thanks. compatible with the same engine and all?

Chucksolo69 03-29-2013 09:32 AM

Probably, although you may have to modify the cowl and/or engine mount to accommodate that particular engine. But those planes are made to modify, being ARF kits. The Maxford planes, even though ARF, assume you know a little bit about building.