RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   Guillows 400 series p51 to electric gas (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/11635706-guillows-400-series-p51-electric-gas.html)

thenewguy101 01-14-2017 11:24 PM

Guillows 400 series p51 to electric gas

Hi, the plans for the guillows model says to use the cox pee wee engine but i have a 49 engine, and my club is in a tight budget and we cant buy a pee wee if i can beef up the nose wings and the bottom of the fuselage will this work out. because its a bigger engine it can take more weight.

this is my first time doing this but how can i control the throttle with a servo and i have a dxe transmitter.
what type of wood should i use when planking and how can i plank the aircraft fuselage. what type of dope should i use and paint.

buzzard bait 01-30-2017 07:00 PM

This is not a project for a new guy. Experienced builders/pilots might pull this off, but even with experience it is hard to do. It's hard to get all the radio equipment installed and hooked up to control surfaces and get the balance to come out right. Then, with the equipment and beefing up, the wing loading is very high, which means it will be difficult to fly. Guillow's kits are not very strong, so even after you strengthen it, it may not last past the first attempt.

What is this "club" and what do you want to do? If the 049 engine has a throttle then the throttle can be linked to a servo and operated by your tx. If it doesn't have a throttle, it has to be run wide open. Best use of the engine for a beginner would be in a powered glider.

Jim

thenewguy101 12-09-2018 08:21 PM