RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   Suggestions for a trainer plane (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/3578681-suggestions-trainer-plane.html)

Wes Hawkins 11-22-2005 09:07 PM

Suggestions for a trainer plane

Hello everyone! I'm really new to this. I own a little Yellow bee plane and a Housefly heli. I'm hoping some of you can suggest a nice trainer plane after the Yellow Bee for me to cut my teeth on. I was recommended the Hanger 9 P51 trainer. Can any of you suggets a few more nice looking and forgiving planes?

Thanks!

Wes

roltech 11-22-2005 09:55 PM

RE: Suggestions for a trainer plane

I don't know about first trainer plane H9 P 51 PTS It's a low wing MHOP You should start with a high wing setup
I have the P51 It's ok but I had three high wing trainer planes before, but low wing and tail drager was different and harder to get use to. H9 P 51 is hard to see with gray clouds or when the sun goes down you can loose it fast.

roltech

SoonerAce 11-23-2005 01:29 AM

Sig Kadet LT 40 and an instructor.

EXCAP232 11-23-2005 04:29 AM

Follow the advice already given here. The P-51 would make a nice 2nd plane but not what I would recommend for a first one. The Sig LT-40 is very hard to beat. It will fly even with an OS LA-40 however a little more power is nice like the OS 46AX which could be used in another plane later. Instructor is a must with a plane that will give you time to think while learning. As your skills grow you will do things instinctively.

EXCAP232

BaldEagel 11-23-2005 07:46 AM

Wes