Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

KV and performance

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2013, 11:53 AM
JollyPopper
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default KV and performance

I am still new at electrics and am trying to force as much knowledge into my thick head as I can. One vendor is offering the same size motor in three different Kv ratings, 950, 1100 and 1450. I realize that is telling me how many RPMs the motor is capable of, but what does that mean in terms of performance? Will the slower turning 950Kv motor have more torque and swing a bigger prop? And what does that mean in choosing a motor for an airplane? How would I know which one to choose for a given airplane? BTW, all three of these motors are the same brand and the same price so the decision would strictly be what those motors would do on a given airplane.
Old 02-12-2013, 01:52 PM
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)

Default RE: KV and performance

I'm not an EE, but I do know that Kv is related to torque, which in turn is related to the nearly undefinable term "power." A lower Kv motor will swing a larger prop (obviously more slowly) and a lower Kv will spin a smaller prop faster. so, if you're flying a big draggy WWI type bipe, you want the slower turning motor. If your flying a racer then the faster. The mid-range Kv might be a more universal use motor.

It would be helpful if you down-loaded "Drive- Calc", a free online performance predictor/estimator program. It takes a bit of learning to get the hang of it, but it's worth it. All you'd have to do is change the Kv in a given set-up to see the difference it makes.
Walt
Old 02-12-2013, 02:13 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)