Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

How does a brushless motor work?

Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 08:33 PM
  #126
Dongskie
 
Dongskie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mandaluyong City Manila, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 355
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the explanation on BLmotors, I too was at a loss at the beginning..

One question though,I have a non-sensored Bl ESC anda friend gave me his sensored BLMotor because he fried his BLESC,can I use the sensored BLmotor with my nonsensored ESC? I am afraid to try coz I mught fry my esc in turn

Thanks guys!
Dongskie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:23 PM
  #127
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,218
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

You can use a sensored brushless motor with a normal sensorless ESC, but you can't do it the other way around. Just leave the wires from the Hall effect sensors on the motor unconnected.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 06:56 AM
  #128
Mr ace
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: liberty center, OH
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

Would like to be able to choose the right motor for my plane. Is their anywere to find software that I can simulate the motors, props, weight of plane. I woud like to know some of this info before I buy? Any help??
Mr ace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:44 PM
  #129
drive2survive
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: puyallup, WA
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

speaking of motors, maybe someone here can figure this problem out>>>>>>>went out flying today and hooked the the bat to the ESC, it smoked a bit and the motor didnt go, so took it back to the shop and tried another ESC, the new ESC got warm and the motor burped but didnt go..........so hooked up direct power +- to the BL motor and nothing happened, know anything about this??
drive2survive is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:47 PM
  #130
Stephen56
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

Fantastic info on brushless motors. Ron's post's clarified things a lot. I knew there had to be some differences to industrial AC motors, since those have a fixed rpm. The tech jargon would be a bit much for anyone without an electrical or engineering background. I'm glad an EE was in the discussion. If you want to fry your brain, investigate electrical space propulsion. Just bought my first brushless off road truck instead of a college grad. ring. Awesome!! UAHuntsville from the rocket city. Charge on!
Stephen56 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:29 PM
  #131
jerrydearmond@rocketmail.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Portsmouth, OH
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

Glad to find that out, This was a mystery Thanks-
jerrydearmond@rocketmail.com is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:36 AM
  #132
band1086
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

An interesting reply post from a guy in Sweden:

Quote 
this switched DC changes from full + to full - instantly.

If it had said it is shifting between full + and zero instantly. It would have been DC.

But then you change polarity it's AC no matter the form of the curve! AC when you pass zero. DC when you don't reverse the electron flow. You can go to zero but not reverse the flow!

So if you only push OR drag the magnets you use DC. But if you push AND drag you use AC!

So you can use both type of waves. For DC minimum is zero and for AC it is as much negative as positive. Depend how much force you wanna have your electrons to make!

Here you can see DC on wikipedia and AC on wikipedia.

band1086 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 11:46 AM
  #133
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 6,435
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

This should resolve all questions.

www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg

Explains in detail how the BLDC motor works. Note it says DC, not AC. It is 3 phase, but DC powered. The voltage flips from + to - in relation to ground. The only part that has me a bit puzzled, 3 Phase requires 4 wires, whether it is AC or DC, the 3 phases + Neutral for AC, or ground for DC. The ESC has only 3 wires, so where is the ground?

And yes you can push/pull with DC, pull with Positive and push with Negative. In relation to ground or zero (0). Thats how PC's work, Check out the power supplies in a computer, you have +5 v and - 5 v in relation to ground.

The PDF has all the details on the motor and controller.

acdii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:33 PM
  #134
RAULOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

A Brushless of this type of motors for Hobbies works with a DC Input, however, the ESC does a similar function as a typical DC-AC Inverter, it creates a 3 phase AC output from a DC input. Normally a sensorless type uses only two phase for the commutation, while the third is used for positioning sensing.
There is not a "steady" ground wire here, since they are all going through zero on a sequencing bases.
The ESC besides the DC-AC conversion it also pulses and synch the waves in a timely fashion through an Oscillator and according to accel of the V.R. (Variable Resistor) and C.L.(Current Limit) set .
RAULOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 03:46 PM
  #135
sky9flyer
 
sky9flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: , OK
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

If it operates on a positive ground, it will only have three wires.
sky9flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:44 PM
  #136
wtjonessss
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

How do elec motores make sounds
wtjonessss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:52 PM
  #137
wtjonessss
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

How do elec motors make sounds and music ? I have a JR and the TX beeps and the elec motor beeps also and at the same time as the TX beeps !

This has been bugging me for a long time "


How do they do it ?

wtjones8@yahoo.com

Thanks much, Wally
wtjonessss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:12 PM
  #138
larrytoo
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: alex, VA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

Will a single ESC control two non interconnected outrunners? Just a beginner (to outrunners) here, but I doubt it.As I see it, it would be virtually impossible for both motors to see the same prop load so current would not be even between them and the phase of the "sensing" wave form from each would differ. Since this would be combined, I would think at best that the ESCwould be VERY cornfuzzeled!

Larry

Elsewhere on this site I posted a cry for help with connections and "programming" an ESC.
larrytoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:36 PM
  #139
larrytoo
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: alex, VA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

How does one measure the current and power use of an outrunner?  Can one just meter the battery wire to the ESC (yes, there would be some esc load and some xcvr/servo load)?

How is it that outrunner speeds are given in rpm/volt (unloaded)?  Does the ESC sense the input voltage and use that to limit the motor speed?

I'm trying to understand/program/use a Gunther BG (1400Kuv, 25A, 240W) outrunner with a Dymond Futur(E) ESC but have no instructions (and NO help from the supplier in Homestead Fla (posting his replies to my questions might constitute a FLAME!)).  Stick programming of timing, throttle, brake, autocutoff, cutoff, soft start is claimed, but how  do I do it?????

Can anyone be of assistance?
larrytoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:42 PM
  #140
larrytoo
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: alex, VA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?



Sure, the v-tail mixer could be used to trim the two motors to nul out any residual (drag inducing) rudder angle when not turning. May also be a lower drag solution when making wide turns or small course corrections. (I once, in a past life, conned a cruiser with one shaft locked, used differential RPM's on the other three shafts to aid in steering).

Larry

larrytoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:40 PM
  #141
scott88-RCU
Thread Starter
 
scott88-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, TX,
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

I'm glad to see that this post is still up! Haha it's been a while...
scott88-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:52 AM
  #142
chuckk2
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 1,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

Motors may be Y or Delta.
chuckk2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:54 PM
  #143
tootalltechie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Prince George, BC, CANADA
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

I was thinking of using a brushless DC motor as a starter motor on a G26 zenoah instead of the pull start. Any idea how and what size of motor I would use. Also if I connect straight to the shaft, any harm in letting it run no current when motor is running?
tootalltechie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:32 AM
  #144
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How does a brushless motor work?

If you would like to look at all that surrounds the motor, this is a good resource.  this on-line book talks about batteries, ESC and the other elements that surround the motor.

EVERYTHING YOU WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT ELECTRIC POWERED FLIGHT
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 11:26 PM
  #145
peterwilson
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I came accross this website to read more info on this great product: http://www.directindustry.com/indust...tor-61102.html
peterwilson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:07 AM
  #146
wrdotson
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Question What about powering multiple brushless motors together?

If the ESC needs to sense the state of the motor's rotation to operate properly, doesn't it follow that trying to run multiple motors with one ESC could be problematic? I have an RC blimp (homebrew) that I built with a friend about 40 years ago, and the 4 motors, 6v hobby type, are all wired in parallel to a traditional pulse width speed control. If I update these motors to modern brushless, what do I need to know? The main reason for the upgrade would be to save weight, which is critical, so multiple ESCs would probably not be an option. Any thoughts?
wrdotson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 12:12 AM
  #147
Ashraine William
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

what motor you use?
is it not working since you bought ?
Ashraine William is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 07:54 AM
  #148
ron_van_sommeren
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nijmegen/the NetherlandsNetherlands, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Vriendelijke groeten Ron
196,261

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 01-13-2016 at 01:27 PM.
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 02:21 PM
  #149
ron_van_sommeren
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nijmegen/the NetherlandsNetherlands, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron v. Sommeren View Post
... CD-rom outrunner motor simulation
http://www.meinpapi.de/dieter/JAMO_0-33Wi10Abig.gif

LRK outrunner simulation, different colours for different magnetic field strength:
http://www.mfly.de/animation_b.gif
The outrunner simulations links are dead, but I found them and one extra.



196,269
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1060063-122-JAMO_0-33Wi10Asmall.gif
Views:	34
Size:	294.8 KB
ID:	2141213   Click image for larger version

Name:	a2691817-199-simulation.gif
Views:	32
Size:	382.3 KB
ID:	2141214   Click image for larger version

Name:	a2706374-12-zhuandong.gif
Views:	34
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	2141215  

Last edited by ron_van_sommeren; 01-13-2016 at 02:24 PM.
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:39 PM.