Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

Reply

Old 04-24-2007, 06:42 AM
  #101  
lostman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Staffordstafford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

Hi guys.

Haven't read all of this thread but re the original poster about Tower Pro ESC. I am a RC dealer and buy/deal from China all the time. And as some people have aready pointed out almost all of this stuff comes from China now anyway. The big boys stuff is only rebadged and re priced, upwards (I know, I visit the Chinese factories often and see these 'top brand' products in the factories). And I am not just talking about the components, most the model planes and helis come from there too, even the REALLY expensive stuff. If I told you how much some of this kit was wholesale you would see how much some of the large distributors are overcharging you. Remember the big boys were all small unknowns once too so give the cheaper brands a try and you may save yourself $$$$s.

lostman
lostman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:21 AM
  #102  
russzero
Member
 
russzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

[color=#000066] .. thats interesting. i used to work in the Radio & Tv trade. i saw the same thing there too. lots of main brands with badges for high street chains !! people are so easily fooled. it comes with experience.....
design is a different thing of course. a very big subject ..

but my theory is .. the not so famous must surely be trying harder to get famous .. once theyve acheived this ... well ..
russzero is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:48 AM
  #103  
russzero
Member
 
russzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

.. id like to go over my 1st post about brushless & the right set up. ive been at it now for about 6mths. ive put in quite a bit of DC flying too. ive wrecked a lipo by not venting it properly & bought a duff lipo .. so now im on my 3rd.!!!
One thing i will stress is that .. be sure to unplug your lipo from the ESC. after a good 12 flights with my new lipo i charged it all up. went up the field & couldnt get to fly. came home & left the lipo connected to the esc & 2 days later found the lipo flat!!! & the lipo had swollen a bit too.... OMG.
I think i was lucky as i swiftly recharged the lipo & the swelling has gone down .. ha .. funny i know .. (sounds like a trip to the doctor). well ive since had another 3 flights .. albeit the lipo is now suspect.

1. make sure it doesnt exceed the current as in the spec
2. if possible check the Amp draw with a test meter
3. adjust the prop to suit the battery & current draw.

& lastly id say if possible try to get the battery in the airflow. ive now re-designed my planes so the lipo is fitted outside the plane. its no big deal but works wonders for the battery.


About the set up .. i would suggest whatever motor u use .. try not to overcook it & the esc & it should be reliable.
See here a demo of my Mk1 DC wing using short lived 2100ma lipo??<Q .. 220wtt motor & 30A esc ... 16oz model. (not sure if i showed this before .. delete it if i have).



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLqmaHeZOfQ



russzero is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 06:03 AM
  #104  
gtok34
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Komotini, GREECE
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

Hi
Where i found the manual of tower pro Esc 30A mag8??
The site of tower pro is down.
please if we can send me the manual in
gtok34@gmail.com

Thanks George
gtok34 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 06:22 AM
  #105  
russzero
Member
 
russzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

its not a Tower pro ESC ... but a 30A Wow. maybee usefull to someone. ive scanned the start up procedure ...

http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/373e2869ee.jpg

or here>>>



russzero is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 12:59 PM
  #106  
pbunn
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
pbunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 124
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

To the "keen electronics expert" quite a few posts back. There is a reason that most ESC can't power many servos.

Your simple solution is too "simple" With three Lipos (11.1 volts) your 3 amp regulator will drop the voltage from 11.1 to 5 volts - a voltage drop of 6.1 volts and a series current of 2.5 amps will result in that "simple" regulator having to disapate 2.5 x 6.1 = 15.25 watts - that will toast your regulator unless you install a giant heatsink.

4 or 5 lipos and the problem gets really bad. (as if 15 watts isn't really bad)


You can do it with a switching regulator system - but then - that isn't so simple.
pbunn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 05:27 AM
  #107  
fahadamankhan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rawalpindi, PAKISTAN
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

have recently bought an ESC 50 controller for a 2908 10T motor with 3 Lipo 2200 mah. following your manual given online when i connect the battery with ESC it gives 2 beeps but doesnt give the beep for flight readiness.
Also it is not giving beeps when i connct the battery with full throttle to go into program menu.

Can i reset the ESC. or what do you suggest ?
fahadamankhan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 12:30 PM
  #108  
Stokes
Senior Member
 
Stokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wellen, GERMANY
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

i'm not sure, but could it be that you don't have a battery pack for the receiver? the 50A BESC from towerpro has no BEC (Battery Eliminator Circuit) to power the receiver, so it could simply mean that your motor and besc are not receiving the instructions you give them through your transmitter. Does that solve your problem?
Stokes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 12:12 AM
  #109  
fahadamankhan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rawalpindi, PAKISTAN
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

thanks for your reply ,,,

i checked the transmitter,,, it shifted the thorottle to mode 2 settings ,, that i corrected and the motor worked....

but there is one more thing,,, as i am using TowerPro 2908-10T motor ,,, it is written on thier site that this motor requires ESC of 50A and 3 Lipo to operate ...

but in my case when i connected three lipos (11.1V) the motor died down after 30% throttle ,,i checked the ESC 50 manual and it says that it works on 13-25V .... so now i am using 4 Lipo (14.8V) and it seem to work nicely ....

why dont these people put right things on the website and with manuals making out some sense ....

fahadamankhan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 05:59 AM
  #110  
Stokes
Senior Member
 
Stokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wellen, GERMANY
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

haha - yes how stupid of me....forgot to tell you that. They require 4s lipo to operate correctly. Problem is with 4s, at least on boat applications, its very easy to overshoot the current rating. So mine is in the drawer gathering dust....for exactly the same reason. Good luck!

Andrew
Stokes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 03:58 AM
  #111  
dikkyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gold Coast, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

I see that you have the futaba skysport 4yf system.
for futaba, the throttle has to be reversed for the speedy to work.
hope this helps.
dikkyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 09:55 PM
  #112  
Inyosi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: mNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

I recently bought some HiTech servo's with karbonite gears on the dealers advice. But my Ultimate 160 with a gas motor was not a good combination. Now looking around a second time for good servos, I found the tower pro servo's, lets hope that they are good enough. My point I want to make is this, How can dealers/manufacturers have such a difference in price for basically the same product. The same can be said for gas engines , a DA50 price against a CRRCPRO 50 is ridiculous. If it comes down to performance and reliability I beleive the chinese are catching up fast. Maybe some of the bigger dealers need to look at themselves and there prices
Inyosi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:20 PM
  #113  
rc-fans88
 
rc-fans88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hong Kong, HONG KONG
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tower Pro Brushless ESC's

Towerpro 30A ESC is no problem
rc-fans88 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service