Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

Help with ported engine

Old 01-21-2010, 02:41 PM
frankysfree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with ported engine

I am new to this hobby. Well, i jumped right in after reading a few articles and took the engine out of my Exceed Hyperspeed car. It is a .16 engine and i ported the sleeve on it but going back together im unsure on which way to face the piston as there is a hole cut in it on one side. It can either face the exhaust port or one of the intake ports. Also what would be a good starting point for the low and high speed adjustments on the carb? Thanks
Old 01-21-2010, 03:24 PM
BOOSTBOY.21

Default RE: Help with ported engine

The hole cut in the piston is for the intake.
Old 01-21-2010, 03:53 PM
frankysfree

Thanks. No wonder it doesnt run very good. Still starts up though... Hahaha
Old 01-21-2010, 08:15 PM
RC Panda

With the LSN and HSN, go back to factory settings and retune from there.
Old 01-23-2010, 02:38 PM
frankysfree

Thanks. Ive got it running fairly well and i posted something in another thread but havent gotten any response. Is it possible to do some modifying of the stock exhaust on this engine? porting the stock exhaust manifold, and port matching the sleeve to the cylinder at the exhaust port, etc...?
Old 01-23-2010, 08:50 PM
nitroexpress

ORIGINAL: frankysfree

Thanks. Ive got it running fairly well and i posted something in another thread but havent gotten any response. Is it possible to do some modifying of the stock exhaust on this engine? porting the stock exhaust manifold, and port matching the sleeve to the cylinder at the exhaust port, etc...?
Save the porting for those (Modders) who know what they are doing. If you can't reassemble an engine correctly, I doubt your ready for self done engine mods.
Old 01-23-2010, 10:20 PM
frankysfree

ORIGINAL: nitroexpress

ORIGINAL: frankysfree