Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car Engines > Car Nitro & Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Ur opinion on crack in crankcase os v spec

Community
Search
Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

Ur opinion on crack in crankcase os v spec

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2010, 12:48 AM
diesel2111

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ur opinion on crack in crankcase os v spec

What's up ladies and gents, I need some help on what to do. Got a great deal on a race 1.0 and the guy was cool enough to throw in a free OS. Later I found out why. Hairline crack on the bottom of the case right in the middle. I've seen the motor sell from 100 and up used 100 and 299 new. I'm still new to nitro and plan on using a losi Mach till my driving improves. But i still have the OS and would Hate to toss a motor that cost some much new away. Even if it is busted. It has low to med compression and seems to be in good shape. Few people said JB weld and get a pinch done. Some say part it and sell them. Others say toss it because it's not worth the money to rebuild. The case sell 40 from china but can take up to 3 weeks, local hobby store says 129.00, or eBay from 60 to 90 bucks. But it will need a new sleeve soon also which is 89 to 150 on eBay. Any ideas on what to do would help me alot. Thanks.
Old 07-20-2010, 01:29 AM
D.DJ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Ur opinion on crack in crankcase os v spec

If the compression is still fine, I would keep the P/S until it does decide to say NO, I AINT WORKIN NO MORE!