RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Car Nitro & Gas Engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/car-nitro-gas-engines-269/)
-   -   Redcat Vortex SS (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/car-nitro-gas-engines-269/11220176-redcat-vortex-ss.html)

marcus742 09-06-2012 05:58 PM

Redcat Vortex SS

Hello everyone,

I am very new to the Nitro world, so please be gentle. Ihave a Redcat Vortex SS with a 3.0 18SH engine. ( Proper breakin was done 7 tanks worth)The problem i am having is that after tonights run i seem to have loss some power. the truck no longer shifts into 2 nd gear. This happend on my 3 rd tank in the run. the first 2 tanks seem to go just fine. i have not adjusted the needles since finally getting to what appears to be proper adjustment. Engine temp hovers right around 185 to 195. Nice smoke trail may be a little fat and only at high speed but consistant. This may have beena noob move on my part but even with the truck off the ground there is no shifting. up unitl now its been very obvious when the truck shiftsboth in speed and sound of the engine.

One of the problems i had tuning was the previous owner did some messing around with the needles. then the redcat maual shows the LSN to be the large needle on the gas line and the HSN to be the small needle on the throttle body. My local hobyshop pros told me it was the other way around. so my tuning was a disaster. i think have finally got the tuning down.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

SLAYERDUDE 09-06-2012 06:14 PM

RE: Redcat Vortex SS

Don't run it thru the gears in the air, you could damage the engine from over revving.
Find factory settings for that engine, reset to those, then tune from there.

To get it tuned, First get the engine fully warmed up!
Never tune a cold engine.
Start from factory settings on all needles. (Maybe 1/8 to 1/4 in on the HSN from factory if already broken in.)