Carden Aircraft Post threads here related to the Carden Aircraft line

Carden 35% Cap 232

Reply
Old 03-11-2004, 09:00 PM
  #1
triangle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Carden 35% Cap 232

Hi everyone, i just one of these at a swap meet this past weekend, and wanted to find out from u guys what would be good set up for this airplane, that doesn't cost me an arm and a leg. I got a great deal for the airplane, so I had to buy it, I was thinking bout the mpi 450 servos all around, they seem pretty good never tried them though.
Any suggestins will be greatly appeciated
Thanks
triangle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 10:27 PM
  #2
capthis
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Evansville , IN
Posts: 2,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

No experience with MPI servos, but my gosh man for what these planes cost when they are done, why would you not want to run a name brand servo? I would at least run Hitecs! Your going to fly a 2K bird, and scimp a couple hundred on servos? [:'(]

Did it come with a motor? Even buying a used twin 100 for this plane will set you back about 800 bucks. When it comes to big expensive planes, that can cause a lot of damage when crashed due to an inpropper set up, not to mention costing you a lot of money, I would buy the best you can afford. It's just not worth saving a few bucks here and there. IMO
capthis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:48 PM
  #3
DMichael
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 959
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

Agree- I would not use the MPI servos on this kind of plane. I would stay with Hitec/Airtronics/Futaba/JR and good servo arms/hardware.
DMichael is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 10:20 PM
  #4
Diablo-RCU
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hammond, IN
Posts: 3,262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

I would look for the older 7 lb 3W-100 for this plane. You can find them reasonably priced and the Carden typically needs plenty of nose weight. A buddy bought one used and stuck a DA-100 in it, then he had to add 3 lbs of lead in the nose for balance.
Diablo-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 11:17 AM
  #5
Texas 3D
 
Texas 3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Diablo-RCU

A buddy bought one used and stuck a DA-100 in it, then he had to add 3 lbs of lead in the nose for balance.
3 lbs of lead ???? nah. I have a DA 100 in my Carden Cap and no led in the nose.
The Cap is an awesome flying bird btw. It's a 3D monster. I wouldn't put anything less then high quality servos in this plane. If you can't / won't buy digital servos, then use at least some strong brand name metal gear servos like the JR 2721. I have JR 8411's all around and even a 4721 on the throttle. Probably the hitec digital will work fine. I don't use them though.
Texas 3D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2004, 11:12 AM
  #6
Constrictor
 
Constrictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Marionville, MO
Posts: 991
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

Ulf you got a 35% carden cap? You gonna have it at the houston 3D fest? you have any pictures of it? Ive got one sitting in boxes
Constrictor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 11:03 AM
  #7
Texas 3D
 
Texas 3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Constrictor

Ulf you got a 35% carden cap? You gonna have it at the houston 3D fest? you have any pictures of it? Ive got one sitting in boxes
Steve, here is my Carden Cap. I really like it. I won't fly it at the Houston Pro Bro though. Fun Fly type planes only.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93670.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	103.2 KB
ID:	111637  
Texas 3D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 11:09 AM
  #8
Constrictor
 
Constrictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Marionville, MO
Posts: 991
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

Wow Ulf thats a beautiful cap. I been itchin to start building one of mine soon. I have a 40% carden cap Kit and 2- 35% kits. LOL dont ask, yeah i collect Carden kits
Constrictor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 01:27 PM
  #9
DMichael
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 959
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden 35% Cap 232

Agree again- no way you should need 3lbs in the nose. I have had both a DA100 and a BME102 in mine and needed no extra weight to balance. Merely moving the rudder servos to pull/pull was enough to balance with the lighter BME. I moved the rudder servos back to the tail when I put in the DA.
DMichael is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:13 AM.