Carden Aircraft Post threads here related to the Carden Aircraft line

Carden Cuda Build

Reply
Old 01-12-2006, 09:48 PM
  #76
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

A digital level. It's not cheap but accurat to 1/10 of degree.
I've had mine for about 3 years and cost $89. I found the site I purchased mine from and it is now $120..ouch
you may be able to find them cheaper some place else.
There are several different brands out there now but they all look the same.

here is a link

http://www.nwbuildnet.com/stores/bm/tools/md/92346.html
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 10:02 PM
  #77
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

oh yeah, it is sitting on a robart arm. It is not attached to the arm in any way, just resting on top of it.

Steve
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 08:35 PM
  #78
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

This is no big secret either. There are probably lots of guys doing it this way...but this is how mark the fuse for the wing bolts.
After I set the incidence I glue 2 small pieces of balsa on the fuse to hold the wing in position. Then I take the wigs off, mark the locations for the ply pads and install them. Then I grind a point into two bolts and cut the head off. Insert them into the ply pads with the point toward the fuse. Slide the wing into position and let the point mark where I should drill the fuse. Works well for me.

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73555.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	387049  
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 06:29 PM
  #79
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

My DA50, MTW canister, spinner and servos arrived today. John at Aeroprotect came through again as always.
I now have everything in hand to complete the Cuda except the covering. I'm still not sure what the final design will be.

Steve
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 06:50 PM
  #80
Flyin Woodbutcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ashland, VA
Posts: 840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

pictures?[&:]
Flyin Woodbutcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 07:50 PM
  #81
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

coming soon. I don't have a whole lot more to show. The wings are ready for final sanding. Still have a lot of work to do on the fuse.
I set up the fuse for the horizontal stab but I didn't mount it yet.
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 08:16 PM
  #82
jmiracle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 593
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

I ordered all the servos, batts, spinner, ect. I need to finish my Cuda as well. I just need to get the cowl, pants and hatch painted.....I'm hoping to have it finished by the end of February. Can't wait to get this bird in the air!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ibow24

My DA50, MTW canister, spinner and servos arrived today. John at Aeroprotect came through again as always.
I now have everything in hand to complete the Cuda except the covering. I'm still not sure what the final design will be.

Steve
jmiracle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:41 PM
  #83
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Don't ya just love the look of a new DA hanging off the front of your newest project ??
Sweeeeeeeet.

The build won't progress as quickly has I thought when the big box of "stuff" arrived on Tuesday.
I got the wrong header. They sent an offset instead of the 0 drop header.
I sent John at Aeroprotect an e-mail on Tuesday night detailing the mix-up and before I could talk to him today he was already in contact with Desert Aircraft and had them ship the correct header directly to me.
If your're looking for great service and just an overall really great guy to do business with...contact John at Aeroprotect.

Steve



and drum roll please.....here is the sparkling clean DA-50
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cz79793.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	390415  
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 09:33 PM
  #84
Flyin Woodbutcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ashland, VA
Posts: 840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

dat sur is a purtty picsur

Kent
the red bolts look sweet.
Flyin Woodbutcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 12:22 PM
  #85
zzw26n
 
zzw26n's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build



Steve,

Is the firewall square to the world and you put in right thrust with wood washers?? Or is it the picture? How many degree's and is there any up ??

thanks, Ward
zzw26n is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 12:27 PM
  #86
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

You are correct. The firewall is built square to the world as you put it.
then woodend dowel is cut at 2 1/2 degrees on the engine side. 90 deg. on the firewall side to provide the correct amount of right thrust...2 1/2 degrees.

Steve
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:27 PM
  #87
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

This weekend I added the pipe mount and 1/4 sq. stock used to support the top and bottom plates.
Cut out the oval in the bottom plate for the pipe to pass though. Cut and fit the 1/4" stock to finish off behind the landing gear mount.
Pretty much just need to glue the top and bottom plates in etc., but first I am going to fuel proof the tunnel and firewall areas.

Steve

here are a couple pics.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75548.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	392367   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31154.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	392368   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fk16299.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	392369   Click image for larger version

Name:	At54578.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	392370  
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 08:19 PM
  #88
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

The Cuda has been coming along a little slow.
I got the front end of the fuse finished with tank floor in and the tunnel, cannister mount installed. Top of the motor box with provisions made for the throttle servo, ignition and battery mount etc. The 1/4" stock to finish the bottom behind the landing gear plate.

Tonight I glued the horizontal stab in place.
I would have prefered this to be stab halfs with a tube like in the big planes. I had a devil of a time getting the incidence set both front to back and side to side. Every time I would adjust in one direction fighting myself in the other.
Anyway, it's now 0.0 in relations to the fuse and wings and all is right with world.
Would you ever notice if it was 0.1 degree off? I don't know, maybe QQ would. I prefer not to find out...I took the time to get it right.

how did they build planes before you were able to measure to 1/10 of degree??

Will post some pictures tomorrow.

where have all the other Cuda builders gone??? let's hear about them.

Steve
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 08:32 PM
  #89
Flyin Woodbutcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ashland, VA
Posts: 840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

mine is still in the box in the barn, its waiting for me to finish the 35% Cap.

Kent
Flyin Woodbutcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 07:51 PM
  #90
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Here are a couple pics of the wings and stab mounted with the motorbox area complete.
I copied what John at Aeroprotect did with his Cuda's. It worked well for him, no sense in reinventing the wheel.

Today I just fabricated and added the pieces to finish the fuse on top of the stab.

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd91990.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	399393   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr55614.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	399394   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hm23934.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	399395   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xr46129.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	399396  
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 07:49 PM
  #91
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Got the fin mounted and the top deck shaped and installed.
The fin is straight forward. Lot's of measuring before the epoxy goes on.
In the pic you can also see I level the fuse side to side and tape a weighted string on top of the fin to make sure it's square.
The top deck was a pain in the butt to shape and I'm not happy with the fit at all.
Hopefully I can sand and blend it a lot better once the glue has dried and I can take the braces off.
I just kind of looks like it's bulging out instead of a nice smooth transition from the fuse sides up.
I don't know, maybe I'm just seeing things but tonight I'm not real happy.

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki20763.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	400701   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17739.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	400702   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl20187.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	400703  
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:00 AM
  #92
Flyin Woodbutcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ashland, VA
Posts: 840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

looks good from here, you cant tell how it will look with all the tape and blocks.

Kent
Flyin Woodbutcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 10:29 AM
  #93
cstevec
 
cstevec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tappahannock, VA
Posts: 1,751
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Kent, get off of here & finish that Cap. Jamie & I wanna fly it!
cstevec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 10:31 AM
  #94
cstevec
 
cstevec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tappahannock, VA
Posts: 1,751
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Kent, get off of here & finish that Cap. Jamie & I wanna fly it!
cstevec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 07:06 PM
  #95
Flyin Woodbutcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ashland, VA
Posts: 840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

me to you know
Flyin Woodbutcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 12:30 AM
  #96
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Is the Cuda designed for a pull-pull rudder or rudder servo in the tail?
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 08:21 AM
  #97
jmiracle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 593
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Mounting the rudder servo in the tail is not shown on the planes, but it can be built either way. It only takes a couple pieces of stick to frame up a mount while building the fuse sides. From what I've read, the Cuda can end up needing a bit of tail weight to balance correctly, so moving the rudder servo to the tail just makes this easier.

Even if you don't need the tail weight, the mounts are easy enough to add that there's really no reason not to build them in.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: ben beyer

Is the Cuda designed for a pull-pull rudder or rudder servo in the tail?
jmiracle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 12:49 PM
  #98
ibow24
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 450
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

I agree.
My rudder servo is going in the tail.

Steve
ibow24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 01:35 PM
  #99
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

I'd probably use something like a 3W 50, so I would probably need two in the tail.
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 04:35 PM
  #100
jmiracle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 593
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

I'm finishing up the radio install in my cuda this weekend. As soon as my paint from Radio South shows up, I'll get the cowl, pants, and canopy painted and this bird will be ready to fly!

Hopefully just another week or two and I'll post some finished pics.
jmiracle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:14 PM.