Carden Aircraft Post threads here related to the Carden Aircraft line

Carden Cuda Build

Reply
Old 04-29-2006, 10:17 PM
  #126
RobT
Thread Starter
 
RobT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 695
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

I personally vacuum bag ALL of the foam parts. I put laminating epoxy on the balsa, scape it all of and the place the part into the bag. As you pull the vacuum make sure everything stays in alignment and use the shuck to keep it all straight. (shuck stays outside of the bag.

Other people use many different techniques do do the foam parts.

Rob
RobT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 08:00 AM
  #127
ahallock
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hillview, IL
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Rob,

To skin the fuselage the way I did the other surfaces I will need to put weight on them. so that the excess wood does not stick out I guess I could trim off the excess and add the weight. Maybe add some kind of spacer as to keep the weight off the edge of the wood. Any suggestions on how to add the weight?

Alan
ahallock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 09:04 PM
  #128
RobT
Thread Starter
 
RobT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 695
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Some Pictures of the Cuda from this weeks Fly-In

Thank you Brian Chang for taking the photo's!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36757.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	132.9 KB
ID:	531005   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av67421.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	123.9 KB
ID:	531006   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ou49630.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	66.7 KB
ID:	531007   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36806.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	531008  
RobT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 11:35 AM
  #129
yellowman2513
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eureka, MO
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

could you put a fa 82 in it?
yellowman2513 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 08:10 PM
  #130
RobT
Thread Starter
 
RobT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 695
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

I don't know much about the "FA" but cannot imagine needing the power of the 82.

How much does an fa82 weigh?
RobT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 04:59 PM
  #131
as722
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MT Pocono, PA
Posts: 1,155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Our cuda with a da 50 is ballistic.


Albert
as722 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 11:10 AM
  #132
Ryan Nau
 
Ryan Nau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamstown, PA
Posts: 609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

How do the Cuda's do 3D?? Im thinking about picking a RTF one up??
Ryan Nau is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 11:22 PM
  #133
Doug Cronkhite
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,488
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build


Quote:
ORIGINAL: yellowman2513

could you put a fa 82 in it?
Do you mean a Saito FA-82?If so, no chance. If it's an 82cc engine then it'll be WAYtoo much and likely too heavy.

Doug Cronkhite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 12:17 AM
  #134
davidgeorge212
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

Well, this maybe a bump for this thread but I have a question about the cowling on the Carden Cuda. I just got my Cuda the other day and flew it for the first time, this is my first carden aircraft. I did not build it myself but I hired a proffessional builder to build one for me. Anyway, my question with the cowl is when it is properly bolted on the front and the engine is running at low throttle, around 1/4 to 3/8, it will shake back and forth and makes a pretty big rattling sound. Once it gets past 3/8 throttle, things will smooth out and the rattle goes away. We can not figure out just what is causing that or the best way to fix it. The builder says it might be that the fiberglass cowl could be slightly thinner than usual. Would anyone have a suggestion for a good way to fix this problem?

Thanks
davidgeorge212 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:45 PM
  #135
lazy eight
 
lazy eight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Freeland, MI
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

See the Carden Yak build I started and see the pic Walt put on there. You can do the same thing with your Cuda to stiffin the cowl. Also check your prop balance and engine prop hub runout you may have a vibration problem. I have never heard of the cowls on the Cuda shaking before.
lazy eight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:37 PM
  #136
ExperimentalAviator
 
ExperimentalAviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 239
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

David,

It could very well be that the cowling is a little thin on the rear portion but I would bet that your issue is an out of balance prop. Usually, even the best balanced prop on a Dubro balancer will not prevent all of the cowling and airframe shake. Sometimes you can get lucky with a small motor but not generally with a gas engine.

I have not used the Vess prop balance ring but several of our club members starting using them and there is definitely a big difference in the idle characteristics while using one; much smoother.

The Vess PBR is not too expensive and you might consider giving one a try if you can’t solve the issue otherwise.

http://www.vesspropellers.com/servle...%21/Categories

Mike
ExperimentalAviator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 09:24 AM
  #137
proparc
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: na, TX
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build

What would the Saito equivalent in size be to a DA50 for the Cuda. Or, if you were going to put a Saito instead of a DA50, what size would you use.

P. S. I just looked up the Saito engine chart, and there is no single cylinder Saito large enough to pull the Cuda.
proparc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:11 AM
  #138
davidgeorge212
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build


Quote:
ORIGINAL: proparc

What would the Saito equivalent in size be to a DA50 for the Cuda. Or, if you were going to put a Saito instead of a DA50, what size would you use.

P. S. I just looked up the Saito engine chart, and there is no single cylinder Saito large enough to pull the Cuda.
Saito does make a 57cc twin cylinder gasoline engine, but it is really expensive.
davidgeorge212 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:45 PM
  #139
proparc
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: na, TX
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carden Cuda Build


Quote:
ORIGINAL: davidgeorge212


Quote:
ORIGINAL: proparc

What would the Saito equivalent in size be to a DA50 for the Cuda. Or, if you were going to put a Saito instead of a DA50, what size would you use.

P. S. I just looked up the Saito engine chart, and there is no single cylinder Saito large enough to pull the Cuda.
Saito does make a 57cc twin cylinder gasoline engine, but it is really expensive.
Yes, you are correct which is why I mentioned the "single cylinder". I think the 57 is $1,000
proparc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 10:55 AM
  #140
5150flyer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 223
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am finishing a Cuda that I started 5 years ago and of course I have lost the plans. I am almost done covering, so now I need to think about installing the hardware.

Can anyone help me with the CG location? Any comments on recommended throws?

THANKS!
5150flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 12:15 PM
  #141
sensei
 
sensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SAN ANTONIO, TX
Posts: 2,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You might just give Dennis at Carden Aircraft a call, he is a real good guy and will be happy to help you.

Bob
sensei is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 02:18 PM
  #142
5150flyer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 223
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

After 3 long years, my Carden Cuda is built. I have been in the hobby for 25 years and this is a serious thrill to see this to completion.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	002.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	4.04 MB
ID:	1969578  
5150flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 03:46 AM
  #143
sensei
 
sensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SAN ANTONIO, TX
Posts: 2,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That is one pretty airplane!

Bob
sensei is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:46 PM.