Community
Search
Notices
CEN Racing This forum is to discuss all CEN Racing products.

7.7 running hot

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2008, 03:27 AM
vangsoe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 7.7 running hot

Hello,
I am new to this very nice forum but not that new to nitro cars.
I bought a used Genesis. Rebuild the engine new sleeve, piston and bearings etc.
Broke in the engine according to specs.
Engine is running hot now - like above 280 F after about 5 min.
of various speeds. Thats too hot of course.
The mixture is not too lean - i am pretty sure about that
I have set both low and high end needle to factory specs
and even riched them out from there - so much that you
can hear the engine is flotting with fuel.
Idle and low speed/revs dont seem to care much about the
position of the low end needle though ??
I am running 25 percent nitro. 13 percent synthetic and 2 percent castor oil.
Everything is TIGHT - no leaks. Everything is clean - no paint or dirt anywere.
I have tried with another carb - no change. I have tried with all kind of low- and
high end needle settings - starting from factory - having it running so fat that
the fuel is killing the engine - but it still runs too hot.
I have a thermometer fitted to the engine. Temp probe just above the cylinder -
just below the cooling head. I have also checked with a temp gun, and i have
also checked with water / fingers - its real HOT...not doubt about that - so i dare
not drive it...
Any suggestions guys ?
Tks and best regards from Denmark
Old 06-05-2008, 05:31 AM
nomobux
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: 7.7 running hot

Start looking for air leaks.
Old 06-05-2008, 11:17 AM
The Real Dogman

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Also check that your Exhaust Gasket is seated properly, having a torn or misaligned silicone here will allw air to be drawn into the cylinder when the engine is running..
Old 06-05-2008, 11:23 AM
vangsoe

Hi,
Tks for your input - appriciated.
Exhaust gasket is all new...all gaskets are new in fact.