Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pattern Universe - RC Pattern Flying > Classic RC Pattern Flying
Reload this Page >

OPS 60 Goldhead instructions and advice

Community
Search
Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

OPS 60 Goldhead instructions and advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2013, 02:35 AM
nevster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OPS 60 Goldhead instructions and advice

Hello gents
I have decided to finally finish an arrow pattern ship which I have been working on and off for the past 5 years.
The engine I have installed is an OPS 60 goldhead Super SPA RCA which I bought about 25 years ago but have
only run a few times. Unfortunatey I don't have any instructions for this motor. I have also purchased an OPS pipe
from the United States to suit the engine.

I'm relatively inexperienced with motors other than OS and Saito fourstrokes and have no experience with tuned pipes but have
read a lot of info from the very experienced modellers which contribute to this great website.

For initial testing I set the pipe length at 380mm (15 inches) from the glow plug, used an APC 11x9 prop and 10% nitro fuel.
The motor seems to run quite well although quite rich. At this pipe length I'm getting 11,300 RPM. The strange thing is that the needlevalve seems to do
nothing - I can wind it several turns either way with no difference to the rpm.

When I hold the model vertically the engine richens by a few hundred rpm. If the fuel tank is below half the motor
will stop when held vertically.

Would anyone have the instructions for this motor or be able to offer some advice on the use of the needle valve and recommended prop/tuned pipe length combinations ?

Many Thanks
Neville

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98758.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	1840599   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez83954.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	88.7 KB
ID:	1840600   Click image for larger version