Community
Search
Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Norvel .074 Dirty Birdy Maiden x2

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2007, 08:46 AM
rainedave
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Norvel .074 Dirty Birdy Maiden x2

I finally got the chance to fly my scaled down 37.5" Dirty Birdy this week.

Part 1:

I have to admit I did something very foolish on its first flight. I've never done this before and I'll never do it again. To make a long story short I got to the field without my tx (earth to rainedave). Determined to maiden the plane I borrowed an rx out of a friends model and used his tx. Now, everyone here knows you should never do that with a brand new model (or any model). I guess I knew it too, but I was angry at myself for forgetting my own tx and wasn't thinking too clearly.

It hand launched fine and seemed to be flying ok except that his tx was set up with way too much elevator throw. It was a real handful! Right when I thought I had it under control and flying straight and level it suddenly went into a left spin. I had no control of the plane at all. The throttle was wide open and there was nothing I could do but watch it do a remarkably flat spin all the way down.

Now, the good news is that damage was minimal and limited to the firewall and the wing bolt block popping off. It only took a couple of hours to get it fixed and ready to fly. I was very lucky in spite of my total lapse of judgment.

Part 2: