The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Cheap Sims

Reply
Old 10-27-2010, 08:30 PM
  #1
Cyclic Hardover
Thread Starter
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Cheap Sims

Well I need some simulator time before I stick my planes back up in the air being out for quite a while due to medical issues . I have the FMS and looking on the old sites for the other ones.

These cheapies are not Windows 7 compatible. Any ideas?
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 09:10 PM
  #2
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheap Sims

Where the heck indeed!
Just get a trainer and get on with it.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 08:32 AM
  #3
chunkyplunker
 
chunkyplunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Macarthur, WV
Posts: 163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheap Sims

Tower has Aerofly Porfessional on sale right now for 124.99. I have flown this sim and it seems real good. The one I flew was an older version without the photo fields and I enjoyed a lot. I personally use Realflight but its at the 200.0 mark right now. The really cheaps ones I 've used just doesn't seem to be very good training.
Best of luck Roger

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXXUS4&P=ML
chunkyplunker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 02:30 PM
  #4
GarySS
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Center of the Flyover States,
Posts: 2,126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheap Sims

I don't know all of your requirements, but for $40 there is the CLearview simulator. Also you have to either buy the cheapy transmitter for FMS or a connector chord for your real transmitter $10 + shipping). You can try it with a DL demo which is actually the full sim, but limited to only a couple of planes and helicopters. The Demo expires after a while. It seems to run fine on my $350 laptop w/ AMD Athlon 1.6 HZ and 250MEG integrated graphics card run by a Windows 7 64Bit Op system.

See link for Windows 7 issues had by others: http://www.clearviewrc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1032

GarySS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 07:18 PM
  #5
rcjetflyer0718-RCU
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 288
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheap Sims

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LW8618&P=E

Is another for $60 you use your own transmitter (didnt say which brand).
rcjetflyer0718-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 10:36 AM
  #6
Cyclic Hardover
Thread Starter
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheap Sims

Quote:
ORIGINAL: vicman

Where the heck indeed!
Just get a trainer and get on with it.

A cheap trainer? How insulting! Me/ With my gifts and expertise? I'd rather get out that unfinished F-20 and run around the room with it and make neeeeeeeeeeeeeeoooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwww noises Nah I have an Extra laying around i can put up. I took an electric Extraa few yrs a go and installed a OS.15cv. What a screamer that thing is.

Thing is i dumped the old desktop and went with a laptop, Has Windos 7 onit and the sim won't load up. Gives me a warning about somefile it doesn't have and canfigure out how toget it in their

Here i am in San francisco a couple weeks back visiting my kid in Livermore

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl31094.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	1527177  
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 09:55 PM
  #7
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheap Sims

Lookin good bro. Get that nose gear installed before you go running around the yard. Just get out and go fly.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:45 AM.