Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

How to Glue Flaps

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2011, 04:25 PM
coreysan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to Glue Flaps

I'm brand new to the world of ********, and excited. Ireceived a P-51 ARF(from BH.Models) and I'm learning how to assemble it, and have one question:

The ailerons and flaps attach to the wing using a rectangular piece of what looks like a fiberglass tab, that you insert into slots in the wing. To permanently install
it, you apply C/A glue.

My question is, should Iapply glue to the entire exposed fiberglass tab before inserting, or insert the tab first, and just apply enough glue once the tab is
in as far as it goes?

The instruction booklet has a picture where you insert the tab, position the flap where you want, and then lightly glue a small thin line. That will work, but I
don't know if that's enough to really hold it for any length of time. Would it help to use more glue?

Thanks for any reaction!

Old 01-10-2011, 04:52 PM
amtpdb

Default RE: How to Glue Flaps

When you put a drop or 2 of CA glue on the installed tab. it will wick into the wing and glue itself in. After gluing it and letting it set for a minute or 2 and you can pull on it and you will then see it is glued tight.
Hope this helps.
Don
Old 01-10-2011, 04:56 PM
coreysan

Don,

Thank you very much!

Is it better to apply glue first directlyto the tab, and then insert the tab into the slot, or
insert the tab into the slot first, and apply glue where its going to be positioned permanently?

Corey
Old 01-10-2011, 05:27 PM
amtpdb