The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Digicon hinges?

Reply

Old 01-27-2011, 09:02 AM
  #1  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Digicon hinges?

I was rummaging through a box of old rc "stuff" that I acquired a year or so ago, and ran across a package of hinges with the name "Digicon" on the package. Any of you guys have any experience with these hinges? I'm looking to upgrade from ca hinges on an airframe, and was wondering if these would work, or are they no better than ca hinges?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40643.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	1553946  
ScottMcM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 02:41 PM
  #2  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,393
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digicon hinges?

I've never seen those, but they are made like the Du-Bro flat hinges. They work great but take a little more time and effort to install. I like to epoxy mine in. I just use some vaseline on the pin and center area so they dont stick. They do move more freely than CA hinges and are stronger. A lot of guys that use these will pin them in place with a tooth pic or the likes.

david
daveopam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 02:51 PM
  #3  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digicon hinges?

I plan on using them on the ailerons of a Giant Super Sportster. I'm having trouble with the ca hinges breaking from vibration. I plan to use 8 hinges per aileron, and pin them.
ScottMcM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 03:10 AM
  #4  
Kaos Rulz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BONAIRE, GA
Posts: 1,439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digicon hinges?

Rough up the hinge with some sandpaper to allow better epoxy adhesion. Some of these hinges have a waxy film from the molding process.
Kaos Rulz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:01 AM
  #5  
Joystick TX
 
Joystick TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N. Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 1,319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digicon hinges?


ORIGINAL: ScottMcM

I plan on using them on the ailerons of a Giant Super Sportster. I'm having trouble with the ca hinges breaking from vibration. I plan to use 8 hinges per aileron, and pin them.
Hope you don't use the CA type hinges on the elevator. A lot of GSS's bit the dust due to elevator flutter when hinges broke or came loose.
Joystick TX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 07:42 AM
  #6  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digicon hinges?

Actually, there are ca hinges on the elevator, and I have already replaced them once.....I think maybe I'll change those, too. Thanks.
ScottMcM is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service