The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Session timed out

Reply

Old 02-21-2011, 04:53 PM
  #1  
tacx
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
tacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: washington twp., MI
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Session timed out

This really ticks me off. This is not the first time this has happened. Try to answer a question for a noobie and after typing for 10 mins. it gets cancelled and says "your session has been timed out". What does that mean? I'm not typing fast enough?
tacx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:00 PM
  #2  
DGrant
My Feedback: (4)
 
DGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 1,858
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

I feel ya. That's happened to me on a few occasions in the last few months... wish I knew what it meant too. I've all but given up on longer responses to threads here in RCU. There's been many problems lately, none of which have any explanation, except.... "they're working on it". I guess its an ongoing thing.. MinnFlyer did have a few good tips, one being to copy your reply before you hit post.. that way if an error occurs of any sort, you can simply re-paste.... but whos even thinking about that?? I mean.. I come in every few weeks, and I'm just not thinking along those terms.. nor should we I don't think... oh well... free site.. I guess we shouldn't complain.. but I do feel your frustration. Hang in there.
DGrant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:15 PM
  #3  
vicman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,908
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

Didn't see Minn's post on that but I do the same thing when I do a wordy one.
If you forget you can hit the back button on your web brouser and get back to what you typed to at least save it. Then copy/paste it in a refreshed window.

I agree a PIA and didn't used to be that way.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:45 PM
  #4  
foodstick
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,448
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

I have lost a few novel sized posts !

If I write a long one, I highlight it and copy it before hitting post..JUST TO BE SAFE !
foodstick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:47 PM
  #5  
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 26,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

This happens from time to time to all of us. It's actually been happening for years now. I can think back at least 5 years ago when I started doing just what was said above. Before I click ok I copy the reply so that if it does time out I can repaste it without having to retype it. While it doesn't help the situation it's definitely not a new problem here.

Ken
RCKen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:30 PM
  #6  
vicman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,908
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

Ken, the problem has gotten waaaaay worse in the last 9 months. Before was ok, this is a pain.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:44 PM
  #7  
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 26,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

Vicman,
 I was not aware that it was getting worse. It doesn't happen to me very often because of my setup at home. I apologize that it has gotten worse. I'll pass that info on to our new IT team.

Ken
RCKen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:48 PM
  #8  
eddieC
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
eddieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

I always have had to copy prior to hitting 'send'. I thought it was my dial-up (live in a farming area).
eddieC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:01 PM
  #9  
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 26,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out



To be totally honest with you I'm not 100% sure what the determining factor is for the timing out. I have multiple T-1's here at the house (I work in the IT field) and I rarely see them, although I'm not 100% immune. But I don't really know if it's access speed or something else that determines the time outs.



Ken

RCKen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:22 PM
  #10  
tommygun32
Senior Member
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

If I'm making a lengthy and in-depth reply, I'll bang it out on word first (helps with spelling and all that). I can copy the original question or OP and paste it into the document for easy reference, then delete that bit before copy/pasting into a reply post.

For shorter stuff, I've just gotten into the habit of copying my posts before clicking "OK". Most of the time I don't even realize I'm doing it now-a-days. But it's a good feeling when you see that "timed out" notice to know I haven't lost all that time and effort.

Good luck.
tommygun32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:59 PM
  #11  
vicman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,908
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

I'm thinking it's about a three minute timer. It happens regarless of connection at the house or T-1 at work and has gotten worse in recent months.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:46 PM
  #12  
colrod12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rumson, NJ
Posts: 196
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out


ORIGINAL: foodstick

I have lost a few novel sized posts !

If I write a long one, I highlight it and copy it before hitting post..JUST TO BE SAFE !

LOL!! they could have been prize winners damm!
colrod12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 08:21 PM
  #13  
eddieC
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
eddieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Session timed out

.
RATS !!

Just tried to respond, but it timed out...

eddieC is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy