The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

Reply

Old 07-06-2012, 03:48 AM
  #1  
JSS4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

This has preobably been covered several times, but I want to know if I can run two 1.5A 2gram BL motors off a 3A 0.7 gram ESC. If I can run the two motors off a UMX Carbon cub brick I would. Also if not, why?
Is it possible to connect 2 of the smaller ESCs to an AR6400 and still only need one battery? OR would a deltang rx work?

If I cannot, what are the lightest 100 mm brushed motors I can use?

I NEEDYOURANSWERSPLEASE!!!



off this



or this


JSS4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 07:22 PM
  #2  
topspin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 1,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

There are two issues. First is that the ESC may or may not synchonize both motors so one will run and the other either won't or both motors will jitter and behave erratic. Assuming you are lucky and it will synch and run both moters can the ESC provide sufficient current to run both of them at full load at full throttle?

You can try it but it can destroy your ESC so do so at your own risk.
topspin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 02:33 AM
  #3  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

In my opinion you have two motors that need to be wound identically and even then there will probably be differences as the motors age. If you have nothing but time on your hands you can experiment but I don't think it will be reliable . Best bet is to run each motor off of it's own esc. Yes you can tie both esc inputs to one battery.
flyinwalenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 03:35 AM
  #4  
JSS4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

Thanks flyinwalenda. Is it possible for you to share a wiring diagram from an AR6400 to the twin ESCs? I might be ordering the hardware today. Is it even remotely possible to use the motors off an AS3X brick?
JSS4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 05:07 AM
  #5  
topspin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 1,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!


ORIGINAL: JSS4

Thanks flyinwalenda. Is it possible for you to share a wiring diagram from an AR6400 to the twin ESCs? I might be ordering the hardware today. Is it even remotely possible to use the motors off an AS3X brick?

Just use a Y connector to connect the ESC's to the receiver but you must (this is important) disconnect the red wire from one of the ESC connectors. Then simply connect both ESC power leads to the battery in parallel and connect the motors as usual.
topspin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 09:08 AM
  #6  
init4fun
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!




I removed this post because I was mistaken about the ability of the AR6400 to support external esc mode . Happily for the OP , the AR6400 does indeed support external esc , and so I say good for Horizn to add that feature !
init4fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 02:44 PM
  #7  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

I've read where you can set a 6400 to esc mode and connect an external esc to support a larger motor so I assume you could connect it to two external esc's as you are only controlling the throttle from the 6400 receiver.
I'd say go and get a 6400 brick from a Mosquito as it can run two motors at 2amps each.
flyinwalenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 07:17 PM
  #8  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

If you want to run two mptors off of one ESC get brushed motors and an ESC for them.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:31 AM
  #9  
JSS4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!


ORIGINAL: flyinwalenda

I'd say go and get a 6400 brick from a Mosquito as it can run two motors at 2amps each.
I read the mossie brick is not BL compatible. That was why I did not choose it, but thank you anyways! I think I will connect the two ESCs to the 6400

JSS4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:33 AM
  #10  
JSS4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!


ORIGINAL: dirtybird

If you want to run two mptors off of one ESC get brushed motors and an ESC for them.
Brushed motors would be too heavy, but thanks for your input.


Oh and the power cable. Is that +, -, or signal?

JSS4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:59 AM
  #11  
topspin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 1,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!


ORIGINAL: JSS4


ORIGINAL: dirtybird

If you want to run two mptors off of one ESC get brushed motors and an ESC for them.
Brushed motors would be too heavy, but thanks for your input.


Oh and the power cable. Is that +, -, or signal?

Not the power cable, the three wire control cable and it is the plus wire. Only diconnect it from one ESC though. Good luck with the project.
topspin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 04:14 PM
  #12  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

Found this. Hope it helps.

[link=http://www.micronradiocontrol.co.uk/docs/spektrum/ar6400_esc.pdf]http://www.micronradiocontrol.co.uk/docs/spektrum/ar6400_esc.pdf[/link]
flyinwalenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 04:36 PM
  #13  
init4fun
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!


Well , that's a great development , I'll freely admit I had no clue that the AR6400 will support external esc mode , , , God bless Horizon ! ...... [8D]
init4fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:35 AM
  #14  
JSS4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Twin motors on one ESC? HELP!!!

I'm just waiting on getting the ESCs so I can test them.
JSS4 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service