The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

Reply

Old 08-22-2012, 08:05 PM
  #1  
rcphotog
Thread Starter
 
rcphotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: murrieta, CA
Posts: 374
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

I just logged in and right a way received a message from my antivirus....."Threat was blocked"

I've been a member here for years and this is the first time that I've seen this occur. Good thing I keep my Anti-virus software updated.

You just never know where or when...
Ken.

ps; I'm not a computer tech type and have no idea of the type of threat this was. Just worrysome because I've never had a problem with RCU in the past.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge96292.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	1794554  
rcphotog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:11 PM
  #2  
Kmot
My Feedback: (24)
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

I use AVG and have had the same thing happen. At that time it was discovered that one of the advertisers popup ad's was the cause of it.
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 05:01 AM
  #3  
Live Wire
Senior Member
 
Live Wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sterling , CO
Posts: 6,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

I have been hit and blocked on 3 different threads. AVG
Live Wire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 05:06 AM
  #4  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

With AVG it might be a false alarm.
flyinwalenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:51 AM
  #5  
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 27,065
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

I've gotten the same thing in different places on RCU. These issues have been passed on to our programmers and they are working to get them resolved.

Ken
RCKen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:01 PM
  #6  
rcphotog
Thread Starter
 
rcphotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: murrieta, CA
Posts: 374
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

Two days in a row?
...and I always erase all cookies and temp files when I close my browser. Multiple times per day.

just seems odd to me that after four years with nothing like this, and now each time I want to sign-in on this site.[]

I think I'll stay away for a few weeks ... and maybe get some work done
Ken.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75678.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	1794776   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql33430.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	1794777  
rcphotog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 06:53 AM
  #7  
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grove City, PA
Posts: 230
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

From what I understand this is happening at other forums, and it is a dilemma with linked advertising. Even if the ad link is initially screened, the advertiser can change it in the future, doing things to their ads that sound off AV alarms.
Bill G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 07:02 AM
  #8  
Live Wire
Senior Member
 
Live Wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sterling , CO
Posts: 6,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

With all the adds in the Members vidio thread they could start there. Just got blocked there again
Live Wire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 12:21 PM
  #9  
Live Wire
Senior Member
 
Live Wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sterling , CO
Posts: 6,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

Well thank you charlie brown now if it just stay,s this way
Live Wire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:47 PM
  #10  
SteveKremer
Junior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Big Flats, NY
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

I am getting the same warning. Do I need to do something, or is RCU doing something?
SteveKremer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 05:10 PM
  #11  
narwalrus
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
narwalrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 833
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Possible threat blocked by A.V.G. during login

Quote from this thread... read through it for more relevance.
ORIGINAL: TheDriftingNarwhal

First of all I would try using Mozilla Firefox. It is an alternative web browser which may have more recent protection and could potentially avoid the false-positive block. You may even find you prefer the interface - If you don't, make sure you right click in the blank space at the top of the window and select "Menu Bar" - something many people may prefer.

Second, you have to realize AVG aims to be more than an scan based antivirus, and instead tries to actively scan links and redirects to stop a problem before it happens. This is also most likely the case of the other software resulting in this problem.

You have two options here if you would like to fix the issue and Firefox didn't work.
    [*]Try to disable the active link scanning feature in your antivirus.[*]Disable/Uninstall your antivirus and find a replacement[/list]
    When I am on Windows, I use ClamWin, a GUI (Graphical User Interface) Windows version of a free and open source application. It is purely focused on scans, nothing else. I try to be thorough in my security settings to avoid them in the first place.

    I did read in another thread it may have been fixed but if not, hope this helps, any more questions just ask

narwalrus is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service