Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 140

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tullahoma, TN
    Posts
    862
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Virus warning

    Most of the time I try to bring RCU up I get a virus warning and it won't let me on the site.. Am I the only one, or is there a problem? Thanks Brian
    Brian P. Smith Bismith2@hotmail.com
    AMA 1044 IMAA 21141 W4BPS <><

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Naperville, IL
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Brian:

    I'm having the same problem. I get a "Threat Blocked" notice from my anti-virus program when ever I try to get into the classifieds. I cannot (will not) manage my listings because of the virus which is identified as the HTML/Framer virus.

    I would suggest that members stay out of the buy and sell area until this is cleaned up. Judging by the speed in which the managers of this site fix things, we may be waiting a long time.

    Harlan

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tullahoma, TN
    Posts
    862
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Thanks. I'm a computer dummy and I am not pleased there is a problem but I'm glad it is just not my system. Brian
    ORIGINAL: Harlan

    Brian:

    I'm having the same problem. I get a ''Threat Blocked'' notice from my anti-virus program when ever I try to get into the classifieds. I cannot (will not) manage my listings because of the virus which is identified as the HTML/Framer virus.

    I would suggest that members stay out of the buy and sell area until this is cleaned up. Judging by the speed in which the managers of this site fix things, we may be waiting a long time.

    Harlan
    Brian P. Smith Bismith2@hotmail.com
    AMA 1044 IMAA 21141 W4BPS <><

  4. #4
    Live Wire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sterling , CO
    Posts
    6,053
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Don't go to the members video eather[:@]
    Larry K
    Sig Brotherhood # 1 Sig Kadet Brotherhood # 4 WACO Brotherhood #34 Cub Brotherhood 14

  5. #5
    collector1231's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    A place in a place.
    Posts
    2,510
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    You guys all must run AVG. It's just an error. Norton Antivirus says it's fine. If you have AVG, just keep going and ignore it.

  6. #6
    Live Wire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sterling , CO
    Posts
    6,053
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Why is it just on RCU and not on the rest of the NET When do we get the sales pitch
    Larry K
    Sig Brotherhood # 1 Sig Kadet Brotherhood # 4 WACO Brotherhood #34 Cub Brotherhood 14

  7. #7
    narwalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    I need more information to be able to help.

    Please list any Anti-Virus and similar software you have installed on your computer.

    I would like to see the exact report.
    Please press CTRL + Shift + Print Screen after going to the page and having the error be displayed. Open an image application such as "Paint" and press Ctrl + V or Edit -> Paste. Save the image somewhere you will remember and upload it by clicking on "Computer" on Imgur.com then pasting a link to the uploaded image here.

    Thank you, hope to sort this out
    (Note that I think that this is the AVG issue but I'm not sure. I do not have this problem, nor do I have AVG)

    SCX10 Hilux - Kyosho DRX - SCX10 6x6 - DF03Ra - M03 - Kyosho Turbo Ultima

  8. #8
    FlyingPilgrim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canton, MI
    Posts
    1,503
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Yes!! I just posted (but maybe in the wrong place) this:
    http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11206295/tm.htm
    I have AVG, but I cannot ignore it, it will not allow me to continue to the market place. I am frustrated!!
    [:'(]
    I know just enough to be dangerous

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Naperville, IL
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Collector may be correct in his assumption that those who get the threat report are using AVG. I am using AVG. I'll try to get you a screen shot of the report.

    Collector, how is it that you know AVG reports a threat and others don't?

    Harlan

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tullahoma, TN
    Posts
    862
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    I'm using AVG, but it won't let me go on. As you mention go on and don't worry about it. Thanks for your concern/info. Brian


    ORIGINAL: collector1231

    You guys all must run AVG. It's just an error. Norton Antivirus says it's fine. If you have AVG, just keep going and ignore it.
    Brian P. Smith Bismith2@hotmail.com
    AMA 1044 IMAA 21141 W4BPS <><

  11. #11
    bob62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bay City, TX
    Posts
    357
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    I use AVG also, I have to turn off the Link scanner to get and then turn it back on

    Bob
    Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skip in sideways, a glass of Malbec in one hand and chocolate in the other. Body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming " Woo Woo, what a ride"

  12. #12
    narwalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    833
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Make sure you update AVG often then.. it may be their issue and will hopefully be fixed soon. Otherwise, look for a way to create an exception in the link scanner, or disable it and be careful in your browsing. AVG is almost certainly the problem here though.
    SCX10 Hilux - Kyosho DRX - SCX10 6x6 - DF03Ra - M03 - Kyosho Turbo Ultima

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Windham, ME
    Posts
    98
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Same issue here, I have AVG and cannot access the Marketplace...even when I hit ignore I still cant. As others have said Im glad its not just me. Is this something that will be fixed or am I going to have to change something?

  14. #14
    KaP2011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Calhoun, GA
    Posts
    794
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    I too recently had this same problem then it just went away without any changes on my part. http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11...m.htm#11192936 Now it comes back from time to time, I have to disable the link scanner. I contacted AVG and was told that it was not an AVG error. I still don't know what to think. It does not happen on any other website except RCU.
    KaP2011
    AMA #408493
    SPA #521
    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #110
    Spitfire Brotherhood # 193

  15. #15
    KaP2011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Calhoun, GA
    Posts
    794
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Tonite I'm getting the HTML/Framer warning on nearly every RCU link I click on.
    KaP2011
    AMA #408493
    SPA #521
    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #110
    Spitfire Brotherhood # 193

  16. #16
    bob62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bay City, TX
    Posts
    357
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    I turned the link scanner off and got in and them turned it back on. Went into planes for sale out of three pages got the message of the virus several times. It was only on certain planes posted by different people

    Bob
    Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skip in sideways, a glass of Malbec in one hand and chocolate in the other. Body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming " Woo Woo, what a ride"

  17. #17
    aghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    1,075
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    AVG also, W7. and virus warnings (Framer) several times a session.
    Brian

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Naperville, IL
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Here's my take on the virus problem.

    I'm using AVG, and I'm going to continue to use it, and I'm going to avoid websites that it has a problem with. That's why I have a anti-virus program running in the first place. I don't really care if the big three of anti-virus programs recommend ignoring the AVG warnings. I've had enough experience with the other programs mentioned that haven't been real positive. If AVG is telling me (and a lot of others) that something is fishy with RCU, I'm going to believe AVG .... . not those other guys. We've had way too many problems with this website for too long a period of time for me to have any faith that the folks running this show know what they are doing. I'll continue to check it once in a while to see if they've cleaned up their mess, but I'm going to be spending my time over on RC Groups for the forseeable future even though I prefer RCU. I just don't need to deal with this crap!

    Harlan

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Hobbs, NM
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    SAME HERE I BE GOING TO RC GROUPS TOO .. TO MUCH TO DEAL WITH RIGHT NOW ..

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    608
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    This one is pretty solid and FREE..!!

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=5201

    X86 version for you 32-Bit Users, and AMD64 version for you 84-Bit users...
    \"I ran out of ideas and altitude at the same time...\"

    \"The Beatings will continue until Morale Improves..!!!\"

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Naperville, IL
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Prop Washer2, I thank you for being a good guy and pointing us in the direction of a "work-around solution" to this issue, but I've used AVG for a long time, and those folks have treated me right. The fact that AVG finds something fishy with the site indicates that something about the code that manages RC Universe isn't kosher. I tend to have more faith in a program that I've found beneficial for years, compared with a website that has given me significant grief over the past several months. I just feel that we have some incompetents running things, and I refuse to seek a work-around solution to a problem that these guys are unable to solve. In short, it isn't the anti-virus program that is in error, its the website code that is crappy.

    I like the layout of RC Universe, but it's not going to take me long to get comfortable on a quality site like RC Groups. I'll be checking in once in a while to see if someone decided to do a bit of detective work and correct the problems causing this issue.

    Harlan

  22. #22
    gjhinshaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lathrop, MO
    Posts
    1,308
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Harlan,

          I get the same thing!  BUT........ Get a load of this........  When I go and use Google Chrome, Guess What......... It works!!  Sometimes it will set off, But for the most part it works just fine with my AVG on.......


  23. #23

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tullahoma, TN
    Posts
    862
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Get a load of this..... It is exactly the opposite for me. I use google chrome and when the RCU site won't let me on, I go to the standard google and get on 99% of the time. Strange deal.. Brian



    ORIGINAL: gjhinshaw

    Harlan,

    * * * I get the same thing! *BUT........ Get a load of this........ *When I go and use Google Chrome, Guess What......... It works!! *Sometimes it will set off, But for the most part it works just fine with my AVG on.......
    Brian P. Smith Bismith2@hotmail.com
    AMA 1044 IMAA 21141 W4BPS <><

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Macedon, NY
    Posts
    236
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Guy's i'm using McAfee security and it will not let me into the buy sell section. So it's not just AVG. Just thought you should know. John T.

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tullahoma, TN
    Posts
    862
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Virus warning

    Thanks for that JT. I was just thinking about looking into some other program, but I think I'll sit tight. Brian


    ORIGINAL: John Taylor

    Guy's i'm using McAfee security and it will not let me into the buy sell section. So it's not just AVG. Just thought you should know. John T.
    Brian P. Smith Bismith2@hotmail.com
    AMA 1044 IMAA 21141 W4BPS <><


Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.