Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: solar rc car

Lightbulb solar rc car

Hey guys,

I'm an engineer student from belgium and we have an assignment to create a solarpanel powerd car.
    We have to test the car by accumulating as much kinetic energie as possible in 10 meters flat (in 20 seconds max).

So
    - is it better to use a AUTOMATIC gear transmission system(and where can i find such a thing that is small enough) or just 1 fixed gearset?
    - is it better to have a heavy car and go a bit slower, then having a light weighted car and go a bit faster?
    -what is the best in this situation, front wheel driving of rear wheel driving.
    -is it possible to store some energie the first 10 seconds and then release it in the 10 last second while the motor gives an extra boost? is their a system for this? anny ideas?
    any response, idea or comment is welcome.

a few details:
    the dimensions of the solar panel are 18 cm broad and 36 cm high.
    the dimensions of the car are 35cm X 60cm X undefined
    the motor use (don't have thedetails and calculation results jet) wil run at 1600 rpm
    the car has to drive in a straight line between two walls that are places 35cm from each other
    we have to make or buy everything, pick wheels, build the base, gears,...

kind regards,

L.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    You're the would be engineer, go figure it out!! But here are a few thoughts:

1. The project is about collecting (and using) energy.
    2. You collect energy from your solar panel. So the longer you run (up to the 20 seconds) the more energy you will collect
    3. Next challenge is to efficiently convert electrical energy into mechanical (kinetic) energy.