Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 15 of 15

  1. #1
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Hobby King's HD Wing cam problems

    Just got the "HD Wing Cam" from Hobbyking,

    Took some test video and it seams like it's recording in slow motion. The audio is not sync'd up with the video and the video play's back REAL SLOW.

    Are there settings that I can change?

    It didn't come with any instructions or anything.

    I've heard great thing about this cam.....but so far....I'm frustrated.

    Anybody know how to set one of these up?

    Thank you.
    Now, get out and fly.

  2. #2
    Moderator AMA 74894's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Spicer, MN
    Posts
    1,130
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    the ~ $35 wing cam? or the ~$95 Wing cam II ?

    I know the $35 version is a repackaged knockoff of a helmet cam...
    (it's the RD32 with the case taken off)
    here's a you tube video...
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3rWKk69e5E

    and here's the manual...
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...7X90231X16.pdf

    (look at the 'files' tab for anything at HK .. that's where you'll find user manuals, uploads etc.)
    Jim Buzzeo AMA 74894
    P-51 Mustang Brotherhood #37
    Sig Brotherhood #95

  3. #3
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hi, thanks for the reply

    It's the $35.00 one

    I've looked at the youtube vid's and the files section of the HK website........all helpful info....but nothing about the problem I described.

    There seams to be allot of info about how to "Use" the product...but... no help about troubleshooting problems.

    I'm using a 32gb / class 10 sd card and I still get the same results.

    Possibly a defective product ??
    Now, get out and fly.

  4. #4
    Moderator AMA 74894's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Spicer, MN
    Posts
    1,130
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    the only thing that springs to mind, (I've got the even cheaper cam.... )
    they mention that the speed of the SD card itself is apparently critical, but if you're using a class 10 .... ;-/ well it doesn't get much faster than that...
    Jim Buzzeo AMA 74894
    P-51 Mustang Brotherhood #37
    Sig Brotherhood #95

  5. #5
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Yea, I think it might be a defective product. Although the video is slow and skips frames.........the image is nice and clear..Bummer. I think I'll sh*t can this one and get another. Just glad they are cheep enough to do that.

    I see you're in MN I grew up in Eden Prairie and have family in Zimmerman. Moved to SC about 5 years ago. How's the weather? Can you get out flying yet?

    Thanks for your input.
    Now, get out and fly.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cartersville, GA
    Posts
    129
    I have used Class 10 SD cards (16gb and 32gb) in my RD32 (the cheap one mentioned above,) with no problems. It sounds like the problem could be that the frame rate is set too low, but I do not know of any way to change the frame rate in this camera. I therefore suspect that the card is defective.

    Here is some in-flight footage from my camera. The quality is not the best, but it's not bad for the price. Keep in mind that the camera is in an enclosure than has a plastic view port, which may affect the quality to some extent.
    .
    .

  7. #7
    Moderator AMA 74894's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Spicer, MN
    Posts
    1,130
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I'm dangerously close to Maidening three new airplanes... the field is OPEN...
    but I'm still looking at ~ 15F temps... think I'll give it another week.
    I'm really missing my office in South Florida right about now

    I think N410DC is onto something... have you / can you try a different card?
    it looks likely to be either the card, or the camera's card input.. (aka the camera itself)
    Jim Buzzeo AMA 74894
    P-51 Mustang Brotherhood #37
    Sig Brotherhood #95

  8. #8
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Yes, I thought of that too.

    I tried a class 6 that I had laying around and got the same results.

    Don't think its the card...I tried the card in my phone and it works just fine.

    Pretty sure I'v tried and tested everything. Just gonna buy another one and hope for better results.

    Don't forget....float planes fly off of frozen water just as well

    Three new planes ??? you've been busy. I only got two built this winter.
    Now, get out and fly.

  9. #9
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    N410DC, Looks like "tunnel Vision"

    Nice flyin and video, Thanks for your suggestions.
    Now, get out and fly.

  10. #10
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    N410DC.....I bought an "Electristar" from a gentleman in Cartersville about 5 years ago. Could that have been you?
    Now, get out and fly.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cartersville, GA
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by magwie View Post
    N410DC.....I bought an "Electristar" from a gentleman in Cartersville about 5 years ago. Could that have been you?
    Wasn't me. I just got back into the hobby a couple of months ago.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    AT THE AIRPORT
    Posts
    1,710
    Nice video!!
    \"IF YOU HAVE TOO MANY AIRPLANES -FLY BOLDLY AND REDUCE YOUR NUMBER\"

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cartersville, GA
    Posts
    129
    Here is one from yesterday,with the camera moved to the port wingtip. The plastic that covers the front of the pod should have been cleaned before the flight; this would have improved the picture somewhat.
    .

  14. #14
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hello all,

    Got my new HK wing cam.

    Using a class 10 card, everything on this one works great. My guess is there was something wrong "inside" the other cam that didn't work right.

    Oh well, Just glad to be able to get some good on board footage.

    Thanks to all for your help and suggestions, Check out the video from the AXN Floater jet.





    Thanks again, happy flying.

    --
    Now, get out and fly.

  15. #15
    magwie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Piedmont - SC
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Wow, I'm impressed with the durability of these cam's. video isn't that bad either.
    Decided to Velcro the cam to my DLG ... bad idea ... centrifugal force ripped the cam right off the plane and sent it spinning.

    Check out the high speed spin and impact. The sound is kinda neat.

    After the two crashes the camera still looks and works like new.

    Now, get out and fly.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.