Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

Local police, the FAA and an irate neighbor

Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Local police, the FAA and an irate neighbor

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2014, 03:09 PM
lopflyers
My Feedback: (12)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That's a sad, mad, good x nothing man
Old 09-07-2014, 03:33 PM
jeffharris75

1990-2000 I was an ultralight flight instructor at Plum Island Mass. The same issue with a neighbor culminated in my observation of fireworks rockets peppering the nose of my MU 582 training vehicle. Like models, we in UL industry had worked out safe operating procedures for ultralight training (pattern alt 400ft, no flight over congested areas etc). It became clear that the individual was ill when he tried to 'shoot me down' and we were required to address the situation through restraining orders.

As long as your field is not in controlled airspace on the area sectional, the FAA has no business in this case.
I am concerned for members safety in your club as this guy sounds like an alcoholic with dual diagnosis. No telling what he might try.

Then again, you could power up the chutes and attach xenon lights to them along with sci-fi sound synthesiser and voice distortion equipment. Fly over his property at night (need landing lights on your strip) and perform a War of the Worlds Skit!

Sorry, can't help myself.
Old 09-07-2014, 06:49 PM
JollyPopper
My Feedback: (6)