Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Balancing

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2015, 08:46 AM
underdog71

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Balancing

Hi all,
I am relatively new at electric flight and am unsure if an electric airplane is to be balanced with the flight battery installed or not. I just completed assembly of a Great Planes sport scale Mustang, and it seems to be relatively close to being balanced without the flight battery, and when I install the flight battery, the nose is very heavy. HELP!
Old 05-04-2015, 10:11 AM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Yes balance the airplane with the battery and any hatchs or lids installed. Move the battery to the rearmost position to acheve the balance point noted in the manual and failing that move something else.

Now note to balance the airplane at what ever selected point it will sit level not nose down. If you do that you have just made the airplane nose heavy and not really balanced at your desired spot.

John
Old 05-04-2015, 03:24 PM
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)

Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts

Underdog1, be sure you are balancing it inverted. A low wing needs to be balanced that way.

David
Old 05-04-2015, 06:25 PM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Here is the problem.
The plane flies with the Battery. If the instructions have a balance point for glow or gas, it's without fuel.
Then, the question becomes how much would a full fuel tank weigh, more or less than the battery?
To add insult, the model's wing is not a "Hershey Bar' so figuring out where the balance point should be
on a percentage basis from the leading edge gets complicated.
If I have the correct P-51 (GP Sport .46). the manual lists 3-1/2" +/- 1/4"
This should correspond to the approximate change between full and empty tank if a gas or glow engine is involved.