Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Hand-Eye Coordination

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2003, 06:13 PM
zxcv11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hand-Eye Coordination

I have been doing some research lately about traditional club learning vs. self-taught beginners.(In light of the elec. back yard flier trends blowing up as they are.) Here's an interesting thought. Wouldn't one think that a younger generation, brought up on video games in ever complicated schemes, would be in a position to pick up RC flight much easier than those who were a generation behind them. Many grade school children now posses better hand-eye coordination without a thought than a lot of adults without training.
Are there any instructors who have been around for a while, or even RC vets who could comment about this for me?? I think this is a very interesting idea which could also be why many are seeing younger and younger children actually able to fly.(I recently read a post about a mans 6 year old flying!!) And thoughts are welcome.

Brian
Old 09-25-2003, 07:11 PM
ZAGNUT
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Hand-Eye Coordination

i'll offer myself as an example for ya.
i'm young (30) and i've allways sucked at video games, that hellfire thingy here on rcu has me totally baffled and rc sims also have me defeated. when i used to go out with friends they'd all play those video games and i'd be on a pinball machine or playing air-hockey.
i've been flying c/l since age 5 and r/c since age 14 and my only "instructor" was my dad who did the driving and hand launching. my very first r/c flight was a success even with the deadstick landing.
i'm a very good bmx rider on a halfpipe, not matt hoffman, but good. this takes major coordination.