Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

The State Of Our Hobby --- WOW

Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

The State Of Our Hobby --- WOW

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2016, 03:38 PM
harcosparky

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The State Of Our Hobby --- WOW

So I am a veteran who goes back over 30 years ago ..... flew everything and anything.

Decided to look into getting back into flying, and boy was I shocked.

Hobby store are nothing like they used to be, staff have little knowledge about the hobby but sure know how to look stuff up and order it for you .... assuming you KNOW what it is you want. Product questions? Well it's not like it used to be, hobby shops were owned by active hobbyists who had an interest in the hobby and made an effort to hire others with interests as well.

One of the 'managers', the " old guy " at our local Hobby Shop knows little or nothing about RC .... you have to " come back and see Kevin " he says.

Build an airplane??? Does anyone even do that any more. It seems like everything is ARF, RTF, PNF, PNP and so on.

Now mind you, my inquires were simple ..........

I wanted information on 1/4 Scale Gas powered airplanes ..... 9 channel radios ..... and information on various receivers and their technologies.

I was given the phone numbers to manufacturers and told " call them , they are the experts then come back and tell us what to order for you? "