The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

The New Look Of RCU ....

Reply
Old 04-18-2017, 06:22 PM
  #1
init4fun
Thread Starter
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default The New Look Of RCU ....

Well , what do you think ? In some ways it's easier on the eyes to read , and looks maybe a little less crowded . It does now look a lot like "Wattflyer" around here , and I haven't yet decided whether I like it or not .
init4fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 06:25 PM
  #2
init4fun
Thread Starter
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Unhappy

PS , when I click "Go Advanced" I don't see the picture uploader anymore ? Am I missing it somewhere or has that functionality not made it yet into this new look RCU has ?


The list at the bottom says "you may not post attachments" , that's gotta get fixed if you want me to keep posting pictures of my planes & stuff .......
init4fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 08:24 PM
  #3
Desertlakesflying
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Can't see uploaded pictures.....can't upload pictures....go back to the old format
Desertlakesflying is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 08:30 PM
  #4
tailskid
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,038
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I believe the pics are not being posted temporary. Also when viewing on n Apple iPad, some of the menues show up in a very small print, but when clicked on the font is normal.

Last edited by tailskid; 04-18-2017 at 09:29 PM.
tailskid is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 05:35 AM
  #5
scale only 4 me
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,582
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

**LIKE**

Why they didn't do this years ago IDK,, Bye bye old broken forum software.
scale only 4 me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 06:37 AM
  #6
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So far it's a 50/50 thing for me which hopefully will improve on the plus side.
karolh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 07:39 AM
  #7
Jennifer Curtis
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default disaster on IE

Looks nice on firefox but it is a disaster in internet explorer.

Jenny
Jennifer Curtis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 08:53 AM
  #8
blvdbuzzard
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,622
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I do like the new format. It also loads the first try for me. it used to take 2 tries to have RCU load.

Buzz.
blvdbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 09:59 AM
  #9
Thud_Driver
 
Thud_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Victorville, CA,
Posts: 1,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jennifer Curtis View Post
Looks nice on firefox but it is a disaster in internet explorer.



Jenny



Really bad for me in IE11. Ok in Edge and Firefox.
Thud_Driver is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 10:30 AM
  #10
extra300crazy
 
extra300crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Clinton Twp. MI.
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not as intuitive as before. When I go to the forum heading the drop downs to get to subcribed threads has shifted to the right not allowing me to access it. There is also the issue of the trailered picture covering up the drop downs. Hopfully things can be fixed.
Karl
extra300crazy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 01:44 PM
  #11
VincentJ
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It would have been nice if they (RCU) told us about the upcoming changes. Hard not to get frustrated, seems like it was just a short time ago when they changed everything, why do it again? Also, the advertisements are VERY annoying!
VincentJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 02:05 PM
  #12
tailskid
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,038
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My only complaint is that when viewing a forum, it is hard to tell when there are new post(s)...the 'yellow' (yes there are new posts) globe (RCU Logo) doesn't look all that much different to the clear 'globe' of RCU....maybe because it is too small or my eyes aren't what they used to be

Jerry
tailskid is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 03:38 PM
  #13
rt3232
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well all I can say for it at his point it is PITA as far as I am concerned

Cheers Bob T
rt3232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 04:12 PM
  #14
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 558
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rt3232 View Post
Well all I can say for it at his point it is PITA as far as I am concerned



Cheers Bob T

Could you be a LITTLE more specific, so we have something to work toward?


Quote:
Originally Posted by VincentJ View Post
It would have been nice if they (RCU) told us about the upcoming changes. Hard not to get frustrated, seems like it was just a short time ago when they changed everything, why do it again? Also, the advertisements are VERY annoying!

The announcement has been up in all forums for more than a week


Quote:
Originally Posted by extra300crazy View Post
There is also the issue of the trailered picture covering up the drop downs. Hopfully things can be fixed.

Karl

Can you describe this in detail please? I'm not sure what you are talking about.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thud_Driver View Post
<br />

<br />



Really bad for me in IE11. Ok in Edge and Firefox.

Try upgrading to the current IE version.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Desertlakesflying View Post
Can't see uploaded pictures.....can't upload pictures....go back to the old format


Quote:
Originally Posted by init4fun View Post
<div align="left"><img src="http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/images/icons/icon9.gif" border="0" alt="" class="post_inline_image" /> PS , when I click &quot;Go Advanced&quot; I don't see the picture uploader anymore ? Am I missing it somewhere or has that functionality not made it yet into this new look RCU has ?</div>



The list at the bottom says "you may not post attachments" , that's gotta get fixed if you want me to keep posting pictures of my planes & stuff .......
Photo attachments are being worked on and should be back in a few days.



If you want to be sure your issues are addressed, please post them here:

Issues or questions with the April 18, 2017 RCU Software update? Post here!
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 04:23 PM
  #15
Rowdyray
 
Rowdyray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Horrible. Fire the person responsible. Just joined. Will look elsewhere.
Rowdyray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 04:28 PM
  #16
Thud_Driver
 
Thud_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Victorville, CA,
Posts: 1,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

"Try upgrading to the current IE version"

As up to date as possible in Win 10 1607. IE 11.1066.14393.0, Update Versions 11.0.41 Does it get fixed in the Creators Update??
Thud_Driver is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 04:29 PM
  #17
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 558
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowdyray View Post
Horrible. Fire the person responsible. Just joined. Will look elsewhere.
LOL. Now there's a constructive response! Happy trails, dude.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 04:32 PM
  #18
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 558
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thud_Driver View Post
"Try upgrading to the current IE version"

As up to date as possible in Win 10 1607. IE 11.1066.14393.0, Update Versions 11.0.41 Does it get fixed in the Creators Update??
Blech -- I can see what you're seeing now -- let me get them to work on it.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 04:49 PM
  #19
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 558
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

IE should be fixed now -- please try!
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 05:11 PM
  #20
tailskid
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,038
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

IE works for me!
tailskid is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 05:45 PM
  #21
Viper1GJ
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 559
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You can't post photos

You can't return to the main forum from the bottom of the page you must now scroll all the way back up.

very frustrating
Viper1GJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 06:08 PM
  #22
DavidAgar
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 4,980
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

RCU is a mess with Internet Explorer. I am having to use Firefox to be able to navigate RCU.
DavidAgar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 07:49 PM
  #23
DGrant
 
DGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 1,728
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It looks somewhat more familiar. I use Google Chrome... and honestly stopped reading RCU regularly years ago, because it just got to be a pain.

I thought it was my comp when I saw a few changes over the last few days... apparently not though. We'll see.
DGrant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 08:11 PM
  #24
extra300crazy
 
extra300crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Clinton Twp. MI.
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Regarding the drop downs. On the main page, when I place the icon over forums on the blue line, the drop downs to get to my page are shifted to the right and when I try to put the icon on it it disappears. Also the RCU news or attraction phoyos cover up the drop downs when they appear.
Karl
extra300crazy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 08:20 PM
  #25
Thud_Driver
 
Thud_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Victorville, CA,
Posts: 1,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
IE should be fixed now -- please try!



No, still the same.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture2.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	95.0 KB
ID:	2210436  
Thud_Driver is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:44 PM.