Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Wiring Gauge Questions

Old 02-16-2018, 02:33 PM
dillydilly515

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Wiring Gauge Questions

Hey all,
I'm a freshman in Electrical Engineering and I'm currently building an electric longboard for a lab. I'm just curious, my motor is a 300kv Turnigy and the wiring it came with is 12 AWG. However the ESC I'm running, a Turnigy Trackstar 1/5, has 8 AWG wiring for its motor connectors. Is it safe to run 6s power through a step-down 8-10-12 gauge wiring system for the motor? The runs will be relatively short, and venting can be implemented if heat is not a massive factor. Thanks in advance! Pictures to come if this gets any interest!
Old 02-16-2018, 07:26 PM
oliveDrab

Default I'm interested

I'm interested in response to this thread. In response to your question: "Is it safe to run 6s power through a step-down 8-10-12 gauge wiring system for the motor?" I don't know. I'm waiting for an expert to respond so I can learn something.

A picture would be great.

Last edited by oliveDrab; 02-17-2018 at 04:26 AM.
Old 02-17-2018, 10:03 AM
tntpooof

dilly .. you dont really need any type of step down wire.. you can use a connector like a 6mm castle bullet plug for that connection.. just heat shrink the ends correct so you have no contact shorts..https://www.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=CSEM0003&P=FR&atrkid=V3ADW3A24148B_53255879504_aud-366993099056la-360278699017__221282308989_g_c_pla_with_promotion_ _1o1&gclid=Cj0KCQiAwp_UBRD7ARIsAMie3Xb9CTUtegvJfxM17U-nBydtp7k5jTjh0ONADsotv3k-xxfG4IsmNQMaArdfEALw_wcB

i might be new here . but ive been in rc since 1979..
Old 02-17-2018, 12:39 PM
init4fun

Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by dillydilly515
Hey all,