Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Illuminated Prop

Old 02-13-2004, 06:26 AM
wossname

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Illuminated Prop

Is it possible to get transparent propellers? I've had this cool idea for a night flyer to have a prop that glows as it flies.

The plan was to have 3 or 4 bright LEDs shining onto the hub of the prop from the motor side, and this should (via internal reflection) make the entire prop light up and cause a great effect. Using different colour combos for the LEDs would be ace too. Not sure about the battery situation though. Probably need to run them from a resistored PP3 (9v) batt.

(I'm new to RC flying so if this has already been invented - sorry)
Old 02-13-2004, 10:54 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Illuminated Prop

There are no clear props that I know of, and the reason is probably that a prop is something that you want to SEE, so you don't stick a finger into it.
Old 02-13-2004, 01:53 PM
wossname

A good point, but that's easily solved. I don't think it would ruin the effect to have some paint flashes at the blade tips so the outline is visible on the ground.

Still viable?
Old 02-13-2004, 02:09 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

No, you're missing my point...

Manufacturers probably wouldn't MAKE them for fear of being sued.
Old 02-13-2004, 03:06 PM
Cactus.
My Feedback: (1)

a prop can't be seen at night anyway, can if its lit up.. now wheres the danger?
heres what to do..
you know those kids toy balls you throw and they light up?
they have a centrifugal switch in them, so, put it in your spinner, swap their poor LED's for some super bright blues or reds which exit the spinner nose cone ( a few mm higher than the blade ) pointing at the blades.
When the engine fires the LED's light and shine along the blade length.