Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

THE END OF RC

Old 03-08-2004, 10:22 PM
Barrrick
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default THE END OF RC

Yesterday, was my VERY LAST DAY to fly a Radio Controlled Model Airplane.
I have been flying RC for well over 45 years now.

I was so scared, that I QUIT , and have begun getting rid of every item I have of this hobby, for the last 45 years.

While flying my most favorite plane, the 1/4 scale Piper Cub, and doing a touch and go, while MY BRAIN was wanting to STAY ON THE GROUND my HANDS actually opened the throttle (half way) and applied UP elevator. The wheels had actually rolled into some a very shallow water puddle which slowed down the "touch and go" speed...... with not enough speed, the half throttle setting and the up elevator raised the nose, the plane stalled to the left, which I corrected with RUDDER, then stalled to the right and cartwheeled.

The breakage was minimal. The EXPERIENCE of the "split" between my thinking and the actions applied was so overpowering that I knew immediately that I have reached a DANGEROUS point.

SO I QUIT, FOR GOOD
Let me tell you, the SHOCK was so intense that I don't even think I will miss RC anymore.

So I guess I quit while I am AHEAD.
Old 03-08-2004, 10:37 PM
rcu guest-delete

Default RE: THE END OF RC

Barrick, Feel bad about your experience yesterday, but PLEASE don`t quit R/C, if you can`t fly anymore, maybe you can help beginners to have a solid start. With all those years of R/C`ing, you have tons of knowledge to share, and the joy of helping somebody to solo-flight it`s almost as great as flying ourselves. Anyways, you will be missing R/C in few days. JT
Old 03-08-2004, 10:58 PM
jettstarblue

Couldn't have said it better myself!
One suggestion; Park flyer!

Jetts
Old 03-08-2004, 11:01 PM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts