Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Your oldest flying plane.

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2004, 10:02 AM
ben flyn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Your oldest flying plane.

I'm curious how long most planes last. I have freinds that have planes that are 20 years old and are still flying.
Mine is a Senior Falcon that is over 15 years old.
Old 03-22-2004, 10:19 AM
jongurley
My Feedback: (29)

Default RE: Your oldest flying plane.

I have a senior telemaster that my uncle gave to me the plane is about 20 years old and the O.S. 90 fourstroke is about 17 years old, it is a great flying bird,,, and I have a giant 3d plane in which I play with, but there is nothing better than going out to the field on a cool North Carolina Saturday afternoon and putt around on the old telemaster...
Old 03-22-2004, 11:28 AM
scottrc

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

I retired my Skytiger at 23 years old and plan on rebuilding it. My Top FLight P-51 is 13. My Cherokee is about 15. These are all high time flyers. I just treat them like a real plane. Do pre-flights, maintain the batteries, keep the engines clean and lubed, and keep the plane clean of fuel residue and a plane will last many years.
Old 03-22-2004, 11:51 AM
jongurley
My Feedback: (29)

Me to Scott, on my Extra I might fly it 4-8 times on a sunday afternoon at the club, but on EVERY flight before I start up I check linkages,fuel(cap off always), and controls surfaces for correct movement, the guys at the field look at me like I am a wierdo but these are the same guys that rebuild 2 to 3 planes ayear, my plane is not worth risking for 45 seconds of maitenance, I have always been a cautious, perfectionist, I just double check everything,,,HUUUUUUUUUUUUu
Old 03-22-2004, 12:32 PM
Flypaper 2

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have a Midwest Hustler delta built around 66. Still fly it occasionally. K B 20 DF engine.