The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

I think I'm just dumb.

Reply

Old 06-25-2002, 10:03 PM
  #1  
cbromeo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I think I'm just dumb.

Maybe I'm overlooking something but I cant find in any instruction manual how to hookup my receiver. Where does the battery plug in? Which servo goes to which channel? I'm using a hitec LASER 4 with a hitecRDC3500 8CH receiver. I need to hook up throttle w/ ESC, ailerons, and elevators (Wattage Impress). Please help me.
cbromeo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 10:09 PM
  #2  
robert
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: private, FRANCE
Posts: 2,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I think I'm just dumb.

I don't have a hitec, but it would be quite simple. If you have a switch, plug the battery into that, then the other lead into a spare channal in the receiver (e.g. no.8), or the lead coming out of it. I am not sure what channels are for what function in a hitec, but if you turn your radio and your receiver on, then plug in you four servos, in any order, into the first four channels. Move the ailreons, and see what servo moves. Then check what channel its on in the receiver, and note it. Do the same for throttle and elevator.
Robert.
robert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 10:12 PM
  #3  
cbromeo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I think I'm just dumb.

Greatly appreciated! I kind of thought that was it but was afraid to plug power into anything that cost more than $10 without knowing what I was doing. Will go finish my new plane right now. Thanks again. (yep! I'm dumb.)
cbromeo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 10:37 PM
  #4  
KidVermin
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Macho Grande, KS
Posts: 1,590
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I think I'm just dumb.

Channel 3 is your ESC
# 1 is the aileron
#2 is the elevator
KidVermin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 11:08 PM
  #5  
cbromeo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I think I'm just dumb.

Thanks rreiss! All is set now. I'll let you know how my first flight (crash) goes as soon as I get a calm day.
cbromeo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 11:30 AM
  #6  
ninefingers
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Calm Day??

No duuuude, you got to learn to fly in the wind!

Just kidding, .....good luck !
ninefingers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2002, 12:42 PM
  #7  
cbromeo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I think I'm just dumb.

Well, first flight was more of a short semi-powered glide of about fifty feet into the ground. Minimal damage (got lucky), was fixed in about fifeteen minutes. The problem, set screws in the gearbox were only snug from the factory and I foolishly didn't check them while assembling the plane. They slipped enough to not allow for full power but held enough to fool me into think nothing was wrong before I threw the thing in the air.

There you have it, my first lesson learned: NEVER TRUST THE FACTORY TO "FULLY ASSEMBLE" ANYTHING.
cbromeo is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service