Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

Senior Telemaster Engine ????

Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Senior Telemaster Engine ????

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2002, 01:25 AM
lnmcleod
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Senior Telemaster Engine ????

I just bought a Senior Telemaster thinking it was a 40 size. Not a bad mistake but need some help as to what size motor would be best.
Hobby Lobby says 40-60 2stroke and flew they think best on a 45. I have a 46 2 stroke and a 52 4 stroke I could put on it or should I go bigger.
I am a relatively new pilot but fly 4 different top wing planes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks Larry
Old 10-25-2002, 02:30 AM
ajcoholic
My Feedback: (10)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Larry,
The Telemaster Senior was made originally to fly with an "older" cross scavenged engine like an original K&B .61 or something similar. The modern schneurel ported .46's put out as much or more power. You can definitely use a .46 or .50 size engine, but a modern .60 or .61 will also be suitable, and my preferance. Its better to have a bit more than just marginal power, even in a high wing floater.

If you want to go 4 stroke, an .80 or .91 would be excellellent.

I flew a telemaster .40, the next size down, as my trainer years ago with an old K&B torpedo .29, which probably had the power of a good modern .20. Those Telemasters are excellent planes, and the SR. can carry a 2M glider up easily!

Andrew
Old 10-25-2002, 03:08 AM
deadstickdan
My Feedback: (3)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Telemaster power