Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

Prop for a Enya .15...7x4, 8x5, 9x6?

Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Prop for a Enya .15...7x4, 8x5, 9x6?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2006, 08:32 PM
xray328
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prop for a Enya .15...7x4, 8x5, 9x6?

I flew my 2 1/2 pound SPAD today with an Enya .15, 10%, and a 7x4 prop. Man was that thing a dog. It could barely fly the plane. I think the prop is too small but I'm pretty new to glow planes. I (actually my instructor) ended up nosing it in and it broke the 7x4 and before I could try a 8x5 I found more damage that ended the day. I was using the 7x4 because thats what it came with (used) and thats what everyone said I should for a .15. The thing is though, I've heard that these Enya's really sing with a 9x6. I think people are hearing ".15" and so they automatically toss out a 7x4 recommendation. Is the Enya an exception to this rule?
Old 01-14-2006, 09:30 PM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Default RE: Prop for a Enya .15...7x4, 8x5, 9x6?

9x6 on a .15? Sounds too big. Try an 8x4, the extra inch will give more thrust than the 7x4.
Old 01-14-2006, 09:47 PM
xray328
My Feedback: (1)

See thats just it, people hear .15, not Enya .15. Maybe its not as big of a deal as I was lead to believe. Do you think an 8x5 is too much? Its just that I have one of those already. How do you know when you go too big?
Old 01-14-2006, 11:04 PM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)