The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Horizon's Website

Reply

Old 03-01-2003, 04:02 PM
  #1  
coomarlin
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
coomarlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

Spent the last half hour looking around Horizon's website and I'm a little surprised that a company that large would have such a poorly designed website. I could see the smaller companies that can't afford it, but Horizon?

I've been to their wesite many times but never really needed to search too deeply for information before. Today I was looking for tru-turn spinners and it seems like it was like looking for a needle in a hay stack. Their search function seemed to be hit or miss. They didn't have hardly any pictures, which usually is a bad thing because in a business like RC there are so many little differences between some products that a picture is the best way to know exactly what you are getting. I was also disappointed that they did not have product descriptions, recommendations, or notes for each product.

They sell a lot of nice products, but it's just way too hard to find them. It would almost be worth while to go to Towers site to do research on the product, then go to Horizon's to buy it. I'm no huge Tower fan or anything, but their website is far superior to Horizon's. Almost every product has a nice picture, some tech or assembly notes, a list of things included with the product, and a list of alternate products that may fit your needs better.

Yeah yeah I know I'm just ranting..........turn me off before I go crazy It's the lack of flying that has done it to me . haha
coomarlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 04:28 PM
  #2  
Warby
My Feedback: (69)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Radcliffe, IA
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon web site

I recently purchased a new 8103DT from my local
hobby shop. I got the $379 version with digital
servos. I learned about it from a fellow RCU
member. When I went to thier web site,it wasn't
even being offered there. I learned more about
the 8103 right here on RCU then you could ever
learn from their web site. Maybe Horizon should
be supporting RCU by advertising here where we
can find out more about their products!
Warby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 08:12 PM
  #3  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

You can never find anything on that website. They should hire the company that did Towers and get into this century!
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2003, 05:21 PM
  #4  
coomarlin
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
coomarlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: Horizon web site

Originally posted by Warby
I recently purchased a new 8103DT from my local
hobby shop. I got the $379 version with digital
servos. I learned about it from a fellow RCU
member. When I went to thier web site,it wasn't
even being offered there. I learned more about
the 8103 right here on RCU then you could ever
learn from their web site. Maybe Horizon should
be supporting RCU by advertising here where we
can find out more about their products!
LOL. You can get more info from RCU than 99.9% of any webite out there.
coomarlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:16 AM
  #5  
DownSideUp
Senior Member
 
DownSideUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lindsay, CA
Posts: 300
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default won't even work

I can't even get Horizon's website to come up. I get the "that page cannot be displayed" message. I have had that happen for the last week. I was suprised when I read this and people were actually getting it to come up. I've had it up before, but something must be wrong. Hmmmmm.
DownSideUp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:40 AM
  #6  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

www.horizonhobby.com

You're using this address correct?
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:41 AM
  #7  
trailingedge
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
trailingedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Leland, MS
Posts: 405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

Horizon's website is arranged terribly. I think their connection gets overloaded sometimes as I start to look and then can't access their page all of a sudden. I shop elsewhere now.
trailingedge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:47 AM
  #8  
DownSideUp
Senior Member
 
DownSideUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lindsay, CA
Posts: 300
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Just tried

Just tried it again and "this page cannot be displayed'
DownSideUp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:47 AM
  #9  
GlowFly
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

You have to have "Cookies" enabled to visit the site
GlowFly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 05:59 AM
  #10  
DownSideUp
Senior Member
 
DownSideUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lindsay, CA
Posts: 300
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default cookies?

I have ordered a plane from horizon about a month ago. I have not changed any settings on my computer since then, but for the last week I cannot get on their website. I don't know what cookies is. I have windows xp. Can you tell me how to enabel cookies, so I can see if that works?
DownSideUp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 06:05 AM
  #11  
GlowFly
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

Try http://horizon.hobbyshopnow.com/
You should already have cookies enabled since this site requires them also..
GlowFly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 06:09 AM
  #12  
WADE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Walnut Ridge, AR
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

I've thought the same thing about Horizon's site. I'm glad other people have noticed. I thought it was even harder to find what I was looking for after they did that redesign. They definitely need to make it more user friendly. How hard could that be?
WADE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 06:36 AM
  #13  
DownSideUp
Senior Member
 
DownSideUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lindsay, CA
Posts: 300
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default nope

that one won't work either
DownSideUp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 07:51 AM
  #14  
MikeL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 3,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

I tried looking for a module for my 8103 one day, and gave up after 20 minutes. It shouldn't have been that hard. They lost an impulse buy because of that. I wish they had a better constructed and more informative website. Their products are great, but if I can't find any info about them I'm far less likely to buy.
MikeL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 01:46 PM
  #15  
WADE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Walnut Ridge, AR
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

I agree with you MikeL. Hopefully this thread will get noticed by Horizon and they will remedy the problem.

Wade
WADE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 04:23 PM
  #16  
Texas 3D
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Texas 3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Horizon's Website

I only visit Horizon for ordering JR servos or compare prices. Otherwise I have to totally agree that it sucks big time. To hard to surf around.
I buy from different internet online stores because I always look for best price. Horizon seems to be the worst of all.
I think that my best online shopping source is still probably RCU.
Texas 3D is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service