The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

second time around

Old 03-07-2003, 01:37 PM
Haoleman
My Feedback: (3)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default second time around

After almost 15 years away from the hobby, I am getting back into this wonderful hobby. I was a novice flyer back then with an Eaglet 50 with OS 25fsr on it and we had a wonderful old airfield in Laytonville Ca. (Willits Airfoilers Club). My flying career ended with a cow tipping incident when my young son gave it down instead of up.

I am looking to get into another plane and I find that with Real flight G2, I have a real problem flying trainers but not the quarter scale Edge! It seems the faster and more accurate the plane the better I can control it. I guess it has to do with reaction time and overcompensation for the slow response of the trainers.

Now my question is, based on what I have told you, what 40 size plane should I start out with? So many out there, so little time; so much confusion! Did I say I am confused??? Please advise.

Thanks,
Terry Neumann
Old 03-07-2003, 04:38 PM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Any plane is good if you have a good instructor. Ok, maybe not the edge. Get yourself something like a goldberg falcon III if you want a faster better trainer. Build it with no dihedral and it will be a great plane. You can learn on it because it is stable, and you can also do more fun stuff with it because you left out the dihedral. I have an ugly stick build this way and anyone could land it. It is great in the air, still handles like a trainer, but rolls and snaps like crazy when you want it to. My friends has dihedral and is boring to fly because it will not roll well. When we do formation landings, I can slow down as much as he can and have no tip stall issues. The falcon would do the same.
Old 03-07-2003, 05:06 PM
Kaos Rulz