The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

Reply

Old 03-11-2003, 01:23 PM
  #1  
Mach1Latus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Mach1Latus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

For the past few weeks I have not been able to get on to Tower Hobbies Web site during peak times, and now it seems I can't get on during off peak either. Has anyone else noticed this?


Stephen
Mach1Latus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 01:32 PM
  #2  
Capt Jim
My Feedback: (168)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 1,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default In a word....NO

I have had no difficulty pulling up
www.Towerhobbies.com
at any time of day or evening.
Good luck,
Jim
Capt Jim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 01:38 PM
  #3  
Mach1Latus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Mach1Latus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

I think it might be either a problem because I'm using dial-up internet access, or it might be a problem with AOL .....

A friend of mine has dial-up AOL and he has been having the same problems. I needed to place an order on Sunday, and I had to go to a friends house who has a DSL line. With the DSL line I got on right away.....

Stephen
Mach1Latus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 02:58 PM
  #4  
Capt Jim
My Feedback: (168)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 1,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I understand...

I was told that by using AOL, with their constant downloads of junk files, primarily for their own benefit, it can make a nice new fast computer slow down to a crawl. This comes from the engineer/owner of a company in Miami who sells a lot of custom assembled computers. I became utterly disgusted with AOL years ago, and quit them. Since then I have endured an unsatisfactory DSL service from Bell South, (the phone company) and I had to quit them too. When problems occurred on their phone lines, their service manager flatly refused to work on the problem. I terminated their DSL and also the wired phone in my home, in protest of their intransigent position. My wife and I now use cell phones exclusively, from another provider, and we love it, and it is less expensive too. I then went to my cable TV provider for the similar fast internet service. I have been through the wringer with them to make things right, and finally, after 6 months of service calls, they changed the old exterior wires and some other hardware in a box up on the pole, and now I operate with reasonable speed and reliability. It seems that you must suffer a lot, and fight quite a bit, to obtain anything close to what the vendors advertising says. Good luck with your situation.
Capt Jim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 05:45 PM
  #5  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

I use the site quite a bit and have never had a problem. Seems strange.
FLYBOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 05:56 PM
  #6  
smartwork
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 214
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

Oh, and for anyone using AOL, make sure to turn off your "graphics compression" for better quality images. Usually under "My AOL (or Settings for newer versions), Preferences, Internet Properties (WWW), then under the Web Graphics tab". Sometimes it's like looking at a whole new quality you never new was there.

As for Tower, we run multiple connections here for testing. Comes up fine in AOL.
smartwork is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 05:57 PM
  #7  
NitroWoman
Senior Member
 
NitroWoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venus
Posts: 347
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Internet Access

Do yourself a giant favor and Dump AOL. For less money and way fewer hassles, find a local ISP that dosen't fill your computer with useless garbage. The only things really needed are their phone number, a user ID, and a password. To me, AOL is like flying your favorite airplane while permanently hooked up with buddy box held by a jerk with the cord wrapped around your neck.
NitroWoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 06:58 PM
  #8  
Mach1Latus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Mach1Latus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

I can't use a local ISP I travel a lot and need internet access around the country.

I have not been able to access Tower Hobbies, or any of the Great Planes web sites since yesterday afternoon. I think there might be some type of local AOL problem in the New York City area if other AOL users are able to access the sites. I now know of two other local AOL users unable to access Tower


Stephen
Mach1Latus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 07:50 PM
  #9  
MikeL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 3,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

Have you contacted AOL about the issue? That'd be the place to start.
MikeL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 08:01 PM
  #10  
RCaeroguy
My Feedback: (4)
 
RCaeroguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Delevan, NY
Posts: 930
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

Sounds like it's an AOL problem. I have no problem from work or home.
RCaeroguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 08:27 PM
  #11  
Mach1Latus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Mach1Latus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

It turns out it was an AOL problem on my computer. I had to go to system information on the start\program menu and clear my browser cache and uninstall my AOL adapter. I guess I've been accessing Tower's page too much.Thanks AOL


Sorry for wasting everybody's time on a stupid AOL problem.

Stephen
Mach1Latus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 08:33 PM
  #12  
Fly4Funn
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

If you travel a lot, get someone like Earthlink. They have local numbers in almost every city that is of any size in the US and also have 800 number access for those that don't. I travel quite a bit also and it has worked fine for me. Just an option!
Fly4Funn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 11:29 PM
  #13  
blacvet
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: brooklyn NY, NY
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

.
Whenever I am unable to log on tower,or other sites,Ijust sign off ,then sign on again and get right on to tower.I am located in Brooklyn New York.
Carl
blacvet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 12:13 AM
  #14  
Sky Chief
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Copiague,New York
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

I still use a old Philips/Magnavox web/tv and never have had a problem hooking up with Tower.
Sky Chief is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 01:55 AM
  #15  
Mach1Latus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Mach1Latus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

My problem seemed to be with AOL's web browser. I guess if you access a page too many times AOL's browser cache has a problem.....

Stephen
Mach1Latus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 03:18 AM
  #16  
rustyrivet
My Feedback: (6)
 
rustyrivet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

Yep bud,

Stephen, I have AOL and have the same problems. It's often hard to get into anything during peak ours, such as ebay and Tower.
I am forever clearing the "cache", but this often only improves performance just a little.
rustyrivet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 01:33 PM
  #17  
Mach1Latus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Mach1Latus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tower Hobbies Web Site??????

Well the standard fix for the AOL browser I mentioned above doesn't work anymore for me. This is definitely an AOL Browser problem. I have found that if I use Internet Explorer I don't have any problems connecting to Tower. So if your an AOL user like me and having problems try using Internet Explorer.

Stephen
Mach1Latus is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service