Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Moderating a FAQ

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2003, 02:31 AM
Lynx

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Moderating a FAQ

I've been running around the forums here for a few months now and I've noticed there's no central FAQ for the hobby. The same questions come up quiet often in various forums and they're not very useful if the knowledge that's shared in the forum that is truly good isn't logged in some way to cut out the time it takes for a new user or someone looking for something specific to find what they're looking for. Searching the site helps, but it's not good at collating the information and actually coming to conclusions on it. How come there is no FAQ system here so that users can submit these solutions to a moderator for inclusion in a FAQ list and some ability for users to add their input. I'm mainly talking about the myriad thousands of questions and debates about crystal swapping, servo y harness's, the hundreds of users that still don't realize PCM is still FM. The fundamental workings of RC equipment WITHOUT a lot of technical jargon, common questions about what wire thickness to use for a given current.. ad nausea. As far as discussion goes the forums are wonderful, but a central 'fact base' is absent, and I think it detracts from the general usefulness of the site.

One other thing.. Why on earth hasn't words like PCM, Futaba and Hitec etc... been entered into the spell check dictionary here =O Greatness is in the details =>
Old 03-20-2003, 03:32 AM
sideshow
My Feedback: (11)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Moderating a FAQ

Originally posted by Lynx

One other thing.. Why on earth hasn't words like PCM, Futaba and Hitec etc... been entered into the spell check dictionary here