Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

UAV Design

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2010, 12:46 PM
Apothekary

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UAV Design

Greetings,

I am a student at McMurry University in Abilene, TX and I am currently doing my senior project as a physics major. I have already been approved to do a UAV design which is essentially just a RC airplane design. I hoped this forum could help me pick good materials for this project plane. It's primary purpose is to be a stable, relatively easy to fly aircraft with high tolerance to crashes. It also needs to be able to take a small camera and perhaps other instruments into the air.

With that said, I already have played with some RC airplanes from nitroplanes.com, and I have a good transmitter and receiver. I also Have some decent batteries, servos, and a few different choices for electric motors. I'm not really interested in internal combustion motors for this project, I'm really wanting to use all electric.

My primary objective is to design the aircraft. I'm thinking of basing my design on the A-10 Warthog, except I will move the airfoils up on the fuselage for more stability. I will need to make a mold of this particular aircraft, then use the mold to make my aircraft. Once that is done, I will make my changes that I want for the design.

My main question is, what would be the best choice for the material? Has anyone done anything like this on these forums?

Thanks, Aaron Ward
Old 11-18-2010, 01:09 PM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: UAV Design

You can use fiberglass cloth and epoxy resin to make both the mold and the final part.

What is your likely all-up weight, ready to fly? A fairly small electric plane can be built at 10 ounces with depron foam, for example, but this will not involve molds and fabricated parts. A larger plane - like 2-3 pounds will be more in-line with fiberglass technioques.