Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Epoxy fiberglass and foam???

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Epoxy fiberglass and foam???

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2011, 03:07 AM
James c harrell
My Feedback: (18)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Epoxy fiberglass and foam???

Let me start by saying this is my first attempt at this so bear with me. I am building a plane that has a foam wing with the leading edge and the trailing edge covered with balsa and ribs that are glued along the span to join them. I wasn't impressed with the strength of it at all when I got dome with it and decided to put in a spar and to put some fiberglass cloth with epoxy finishing resin. I wacthed many videos, which by the way made it look simple, but it ain't quite so easy. First thing was the resin I used, Great Planes finishing resin, was alot thicker than that I had seen. Very sticky and hard to work out wrinkles etc. I put down a light coat of it first, squeeged it as thin as possible, layed down the cloth, .56 oz, and put down another coat on top. I finally got it to where it looked half decent and am waiting on it to dry. When I do the other side of the wing would it be easier to heat the epoxy up a little to make it thinner and easier to work out? Any other tips that will help me would be a great help!
Old 10-06-2011, 04:08 AM
VIRGINIA MODEL BUILDERS
My Feedback: (159)

Default RE: Epoxy fiberglass and foam???

Rmember one thing before you heat the resin. Heat will accelerate the set up time and you will have to work faster than usual.

Old 10-06-2011, 09:05 AM
James c harrell