Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Fiberglassing questions: Why Bondo Specifically and Regarding Seams and now, more

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Fiberglassing questions: Why Bondo Specifically and Regarding Seams and now, more

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2012, 06:57 PM
nwadc10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fiberglassing questions: Why Bondo Specifically and Regarding Seams and now, more

I have no experience fiberglassing, well, anything. My next project is going to be the TFF4U Corsair. I never considered fiberglassing until Isaw photos of some glassed planes and was impressed with their appearance. I set off to research the process and products required as much as Icould. Now, I am very interested in glassing airplanes but throughout my research I couldn't find the answer to a couple of questions that Ihave.

First, why are so many using Bondo, in particular? Would a hobby balsa filler work just as well? Second, the seams from one section of fiberglass to another, say on the wing between the top and bottom of the wing, how are those removed? Are they removed by sanding after initial glassing, after the coat of filler, or do they never appear if the fiberglass is so thin to begin with?

Thanks,
Justin
Old 01-04-2012, 07:14 PM
KC36330

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Fiberglassing questions: Why Bondo Specifically and Regarding Seams and now, more

I've never used Bondo, it's just too heavy, talc powder works but there are lightweight fillers sold by West System and i've found them to work the best for me, easy to sand and light weight.

on the seams, you do bottom of wing first, use a T-bar sander to sand/cut the edge of the glass where it wraps around the edge, then do the same for the overlapping piece and there's hardly any seam at all, minimal filler and you're good to go.