Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Repairing small internal cracks in tight spaces

Hi folks, been aero-modelling for 40 years, mostly control line aerobatics etc, with Balsa and nylon, I am new to fibreglass.

I've had a nice outrunner powered 2 meter aileron glider for a few years now and it now needs a bit of TLC to the areas around the wing fixings inside the fibreglass fuselage.

Trouble is it is small in there and the re-enforcement only needs some glass cloth (or similar ?) around 2cm x 1cm. I have got some very lightweight woven glass cloth (from a friend who uses it to skin wings on Team Racers) and I have got some Flair brand resin.

I simply cannot get the small patches to stick where I need them. I just get in a right mess with the patch sticking to everything (fingers, small brushes, etc) and it won't stay neatly in the right place. I end up pulling the mess of cloth out before the resin fires so as not to leave a "set" mess in the tight space !

Any tips folks ?
    JB in N.W. UK - (if you are into control line in my area, get in touch)

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Repairing small internal cracks in tight spaces

Having the same problem with a Super Dimona. Going to try an old trick that worked well in other areas: spray area or cloth with a light coat of 3M 77 or equivalent. Place patch and smooth, then apply epoxy.
    Walt
    WT in Illinois

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

ORIGINAL: Walt Thyng