Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Wet layup of fuel tank question

Hi guys,

I am trying to make a large (1 gallon) kerosene tank. This is a one off, lost plug/mold job (whatever the proper terminology is)

I have the styrofoam shape and I covered it in kapton tape and wax. My plan is to glass over this with 2 layers of 2 ounce next to the plug (to minimize pin holes) then 2 layers of 6 ounce over that. After it cures I will saw it in half, remove the plug, add hardware, baffles, join it, etc etc.

My question is how to hold the glass down while it cures. My thought is to apply a final layer of teflon coated glass, then wrap the thing is ace bandages.

I have never done this before and I could get myself in a mess here so I am all ears.

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Wet layup of fuel tank question

ORIGINAL: mr_matt

Hi guys,

I am trying to make a large (1 gallon) kerosene tank. This is a one off, lost plug/mold job (whatever the proper terminology is)

I have the styrofoam shape and I covered it in kapton tape and wax. My plan is to glass over this with 2 layers of 2 ounce next to the plug (to minimize pin holes) then 2 layers of 6 ounce over that. After it cures I will saw it in half, remove the plug, add hardware, baffles, join it, etc etc.

My question is how to hold the glass down while it cures. My thought is to apply a final layer of teflon coated glass, then wrap the thing is ace bandages.

I have never done this before and I could get myself in a mess here so I am all ears.

Thanks in advance,