Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Help Making a Hatch in Fiberglass Fuselage

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Help Making a Hatch in Fiberglass Fuselage

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2013, 12:21 PM
Corsair2013
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help Making a Hatch in Fiberglass Fuselage

I am new to Fiberglass planes - normally I work on wood so this is outside my norm.

I have a Skyshark 82" P-40 and want to make a Hatch in the plane to mount the power switches, fuel Dot, etc. I have seen builds where you make a copy of a section of the fuselage then use that to make a hatch that will fit into the hole you cut out.

If someone knows how to do this and would be willing to walk me through all the steps I would appreciate it very much.

PM me and I will get in contact.

Thanks

Keith
Old 11-22-2013, 01:39 PM
foodstick

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

I am by no means the expert on this, but when I have done it I carefully cut the hatch out with exacto knives or a thin cutting wheel on my dremel. I then build a wooden box that sits back inside the plane to hold your switchs. I glue and or glass the box in...

Then since I can't make a hinge work dead on to save my life ! hahahahah .... I usually build some back structure into the hatch, I mount a pin that goes forward into the new box.. and I put magnets on the back edge so it clicks closed. I usually attach it also with a small fishing leader so I can open up the hatch and the piece will be right there..and not on the ground lost or getting stepped on.

Thats my low tech way of doing it.
Old 11-22-2013, 04:02 PM
SCALECRAFT
My Feedback: (13)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This is how I have seen vinyl floors repaired.