Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Is West System a Polyester Epoxy?

Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Is West System a Polyester Epoxy?

Old 02-20-2014, 05:50 PM
Corsair2013
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Is West System a Polyester Epoxy?

Guys, I am not an expert with Fiberglass and epoxy resins so I need some help.

Is there a difference between Polyester Epoxy and West System Epoxy? I thought I read that Polyester is the "stinky" stuff and West System-that I use, has very little odor so it is different.

What is the Epoxy - 5 minute and 30 minute sold at the LHS or stores?

My main question is - if my fuselage was constructed with Polyester Epoxy will the "regular" LHS 5 and 30 minute Epoxy and West System Epoxy and fiberglass work okay or do I need to use a special epoxy?

Thanks for your help

Keith
Old 02-20-2014, 06:15 PM
invertmast
My Feedback: (23)

Received 222 Likes on 113 Posts

Polyester is just that. Polyester.
Epoxy is a different chemical makeup than polyester resin.

LHS and west epoxy will stick to a polyester glass fuse, just make sure the surface is cleaned and roughed up.
Old 02-20-2014, 09:43 PM
Corsair2013

Okay I think I have it.

Resins are used with fiberglass or other materials to build.

Epoxy is used as a glue.

I got them confused there for a moment as I thought I read somewhere that you could use Epoxy with fiberglass instead of resin.

Thanks!

Keith
Old 02-21-2014, 01:15 PM
tunakuts3d

No you do not quite have it. Epoxy is one type of resin. Polyester is another type of resin. Both are two part catalyzed resins. Both can be and are used with fiberglass. Not used together but one or the other. Resin is a generic term/word that refers to a thick syrupy liquid. Anyone else care to jump in and add anything for clarification?
Old 02-21-2014, 06:32 PM
invertmast