Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

foam board with fiberglass cloth etc ?

Reply

Old 01-09-2018, 11:13 AM
  #1  
rudder2
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default foam board with fiberglass cloth etc ?

Hello..... would like to build a flight sim console using a foam board and cover it with fiberglass cloth with a resin. I did this like 20 years ago building a experimental airplane in the bulkheads of the fuselage. Can anybody help me with what foam to buy and what cloth etc I need? Aircraft spruce has a great website but they wont tell me what exact items to use. thanks
rudder2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 01:41 PM
  #2  
Mms_citrus
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How thick does it all need to be? Lowe’s or Home Depot have foam you can use. For your purposes literally any cloth or maybe even chop strand will work. Thinner glass will conform to curves better. Heavier gives mor rigidity and build up. You could get away with polyester resin too, just don’t build it up too many layers at a time. It’ll get too hot probably. Polyester cause it’s cheap. I don’t know for sure if polyester will eat the foam but it’s like 1/4 the cost of epoxy.
your question is to vague
Mms_citrus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 01:51 PM
  #3  
aspeed
 
aspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ruthven, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

First, welcome to the forum. There is a polyisocyanurate foam that the polyester resin does not affect. It is usually a house cladding in around 3/4" thickness. If using an epoxy, or water based urethane or whatever for a resin, then other foams are fine. The extruded ones sand nicer than the beaded white foam. Cloth is usually fiberglass, matte is good too, not maybe as strong. Lots of variables to take into account.with the given info.
aspeed is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service